FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

problem downloading image from a6500

Page  123 4>
Author
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: problem downloading image from a6500
    Posted: 15 October 2018 at 22:51

[url=https://flic.kr/p/243LuWc][/url] by Coast,
the above image is what opened when I uploaded from my a6500 into my Mac Photos app. The camera settings can be viewed by clicking on the photo. They are very normal settings. I am no expert, that's why this post but It looks to me I lost 1/2 of my data somewhere in transition. Just my guess?

I consulted w Apple support, they might be a little better than most, but if the problem will take some time they will usually just blow you off. Like they did me. They dl w a different app (previews) and got the same results. Told me to update the camera firmware and try dl again. I went from ver 1.03 to 1.05 I have dl the pics 3 times now, always w the same results

I tried to pp the above and you can see they look like pics w 1/2 of their data missing. The blue sky's are as grainy as can be. This is particularly heartbreaking because for me it was a once in a lifetime day. The clouds and the colors were magnificent

If anyone knows how I can salvage these photos I will be forever indebted

Of course Apple told me to Sony support, which is notoriously bad

Any help is appreciated, thanks_____Coast

Edited by Coast - 11 February 2019 at 04:54
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
 



Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1485
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2018 at 23:31
Have you tried loading direct from the card?

It could be an issue with the lead or wifi.

Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2018 at 23:52
Hi, thanks. These are all direct from the card uploads and even when not I load via cable
I should try cable just to check, but thanks
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
skm.sa100 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 January 2009
Country: United States
Location: Charlotte, NC
Status: Offline
Posts: 3360
Post Options Post Options   Quote skm.sa100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 01:18
What do you mean you lost half your data? Did the images come out at reduced size? Or did you actually lose some pics?
The first one, if that's the case, would be a totally weird scenario.
The second one could perhaps be rectified using a data recovery software.
More Dyxumer, less photographer.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 01:41
I don't know about missing data but looking at the EXIF Exposure Bias is -1.3 EV.
might be the issue.
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 01:47
Hi, thanks
What I wrote is I'm not an expert, just my guess. I'm looking at according to the camera settings the noise and grain of the image is highly excessive
Have you analyzed the EXIF of the photo ?, thats not the grain or noise for an ISO of 200
The grain and noise are most evident in a little enlargement of the sky or any thing else
thanks again
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
 



Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 01:56
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

I don't know about missing data but looking at the EXIF Exposure Bias is -1.3 EV.
might be the issue.

Hi I'll take all the help I can get but I don't think -1.3 EV adds that much grain or noise
A raw file w 200 ISO should be a much much better photo. all things equal
thanks_____Coast
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 02:13
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

I don't know about missing data but looking at the EXIF Exposure Bias is -1.3 EV.
might be the issue.

Hi I'll take all the help I can get but I don't think -1.3 EV adds that much grain or noise
A raw file w 200 ISO should be a much much better photo. all things equal
thanks_____Coast


I would say "yes it does". The light was crap for the shot I took today in the fog for Oktoberfest; so I bracketed it. I was at ISO 400 and +.3 0 -.3 Grain and noise was pronounced in the -.3

at -1.3 for a Brightness Value of 10. you're going to add noise.
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 02:21
LAbernethy:
is there anything I can do about that now?
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 02:26
Yes and no. If you are hoping to turn it into a perfectly exposed print - no. Anything else if you have it in raw - yes.
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 02:40
the files are in raw still on my card. I have worked some of them in pp if you want you can scroll thru them but w the amount of grain and noise to me they look like crap. See what you think
Thats pretty depressing, it was one of the best days possible
I did shoot in aperture mode creative: autumn leaves, maybe that pushed it into -1.3?
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1345
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 04:20
Originally posted by Coast Coast wrote:

the files are in raw still on my card. I have worked some of them in pp if you want you can scroll thru them but w the amount of grain and noise to me they look like crap. See what you think
Thats pretty depressing, it was one of the best days possible
I did shoot in aperture mode creative: autumn leaves, maybe that pushed it into -1.3?


I don't use Lightroom so I can't give you a step by step to rescue the shots. I use PaintShop Pro. You should be able to correct for 1.0 EV plus some histogram adjustment and noise reduction.
Back to Top
Coast View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 May 2015
Country: United States
Location: NorCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 1742
Post Options Post Options   Quote Coast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 04:25
👍Thanks for your help
Coast

Edited by Coast - 16 October 2018 at 04:28
Sony a6500, Zeiss 16-70, Rokinon 12/ 2, Sony 55-210   < Keep it Simple / Travel lite >
Back to Top
skm.sa100 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 January 2009
Country: United States
Location: Charlotte, NC
Status: Offline
Posts: 3360
Post Options Post Options   Quote skm.sa100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2018 at 04:55
Whichever raw editor you use, -1.3 shouldn't be too much of an issue. Typically with raw, up to 2 stops can be safely recovered, depending on settings. It won't be as good as a perfectly exposed shot but raw does give a good bit of leeway.
The shot you posted definitely is underexposed. Increase the exposure for the raw and see what gives. That *will* increase the noise, can't be helped.
More Dyxumer, less photographer.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.