FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sensor replacement

Author
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1307
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sensor replacement
    Posted: 30 May 2019 at 14:56
This is probably a pipe dream, but it doesn't hurt to ask. I have an A900 with a damaged sensor. It was for parts. Is it possible to replace that sensor with one out of a (bad body good sensor) A7, A7R or A7S? If so, does the camera firmware limit the performance of the more advanced sensors?
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2270
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2019 at 15:46
I would imagine most of the connections are in a different layout .
By damaged , do you mean a scratched cover filter or a fault has developed with the sensor ?
If it's a scratch , then it's not the sensor that is scratched , but the i.r cut and AA filter in front of it that needs replacing .
This should be able to be done by a specialist that also do I.R / full spectrum conversions like Life Pixel in the U.S .

(edited to correct auto complete rubbish from "dated" to "damaged" !)

Edited by neilt3 - 30 May 2019 at 19:21
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3335
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2019 at 15:49
Short answer, no! Design and construction are entirely different.
Best bet is to look for an A900 with something else wrong and try to make a bitsa, but that won't be easy. I tried to do it with two 5d models with different faults, but there were too many fine connectors that aren't easily removed without damage so I gave up.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1307
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2019 at 16:47
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Short answer, no! Design and construction are entirely different.
Best bet is to look for an A900 with something else wrong and try to make a bitsa, but that won't be easy. I tried to do it with two 5d models with different faults, but there were too many fine connectors that aren't easily removed without damage so I gave up.

damn. I was hoping with all the full frame lines they're running, plus the sensors they're making for Nikon they would have standerdized things.

How about a transplant from an A850?

Edited by LAbernethy - 30 May 2019 at 18:09
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11321
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2019 at 20:01
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

...How about a transplant from an A850?


Now that would be do-able but it wouldn't be cost effective, whatever the cost is for a sensor replacement it'd be double that.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2270
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 01:40
You still haven't said what the problem is with your a900's sensor ?
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1307
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 03:11
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

You still haven't said what the problem is with your a900's sensor ?

scratched and hazy. output looks like a cheap printer running out of ink.

Edited by LAbernethy - 31 May 2019 at 03:54
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2270
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 08:38
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

You still haven't said what the problem is with your a900's sensor ?

scratched and hazy. output looks like a cheap printer running out of ink.


Shine s light in the mirror box and look at the sensor .
The scratched aren't on the sensor anyway , and the haziness is also likely caused by a bad cleaning job on it .
Probably resedue of the cleaning fluid left on the filter pack coupled with many fine scratches .
The firm that does Infrared conversions also replace the filter packs with replacement stock covers .
I've done infrared conversions myself , and replaced a filter pack that was scratched on another .
It's a fiddly , time consuming job , complex too, but doable if you have the ability or end up with a pile of bits if you haven't !
No more of a job than stripping two cameras to make one .
If it's a job your able to do , look into just buying the part , or get a price to have it done .
Buying a faulty camera for parts is unnecessary .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2270
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 08:59
I'm at work at the moment but can provide some links that might be helpful later to obtain either parts or the service to do the job .
Have you done a job like this before ?
I ask as for most people this is not a d.i.y job .
No camera workshop would accept a box of bits or an incorrectly reassembled camera in for repair .
If the camera was a £50 a200 , then it's a good practice camera with not s lot to lose , but an a900 is still a camera with a good value , and paying for s repair would likely be less than buying a parts camera .
This of coarse assumes that all the damage is on the filter pack and is not water damage ( unlikely )
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1307
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 15:36
The A900 was a thrift store find. I bought it for the battery door and eye cup knowing it probably didn't work as new or at all. The parts I need for my A850. Should the a850 fail mechanically I was thinking "parts". Then I thought "I would really like a a900 DSLR with an OVF ISO 50-100000 12, 24 or 36MP for less than $500"

Edited by LAbernethy - 31 May 2019 at 15:47
Back to Top
minolta_mutley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 August 2010
Country: Belgium
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Posts: 580
Post Options Post Options   Quote minolta_mutley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 19:15
I can imagine a lot of us want the A900 with an A7RIII sensor inside - it somehow exists in the A99II but that got an EVF upgrade and badly enough for us a rather high price tag .

It seems like a good idea to keep that A900 in case the A850 breaks. The sensors should be the same (the cpu-board is different due to the fact the A900 has 2 cpu's - the A850 only has one).
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.