FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77ii LCD repair

Author
Tue Romanow View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 September 2006
Country: Denmark
Location: Middelfart, Fyn
Status: Offline
Posts: 953
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tue Romanow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77ii LCD repair
    Posted: 24 August 2020 at 10:48
Hi all.

I was shooting at an event the other day when the back lcd on my a77ii just went black. It's not entirely off as you can see a slight glow when I turn the camera on. Does anyone have any experience with that? I'm going to send it off for repair but I'd like to know if it's an expensive repair?
There's no such thing as too many lenses.
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29574
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 August 2020 at 11:39
Is your EVF still normal and is the camera further working as intended?

If that's the case it's probably just the LCD screen. I just had mine replaced on an A7ii (after a bonehead action from myself and dropping the camera on a stone surface). The LCD was all white when on, but you could still vaguely see the image and/or the menu settings. For the rest the camera and EVF worked all normally

It costed me ~ 215 to have the LCD replaced (incl. shipping back and forth)

The repair shop I use (easyrepair near Gent, Belgium) will charge 25 for shipping/administration and 27 for doing an estimate when you don't go ahead with the repair.

I sent my camera to them August 6, just received it back in full working order this morning, so cost and timing wise I'm a happy customer. I can highly recommend them, I have no other relation with them as two repairs and both have been handled very well and quick. They don't have Danmark in the list of countries they serve, but if you're interested you might give them a call and see what the options are: All details can be found on their website

Good luck getting this all sorted.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 10726
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 August 2020 at 13:13
Before you turn it in - did you try the finder/monitor button?
There is a "deactivate monitor" option, maybe you have that set?


Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Tue Romanow View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 September 2006
Country: Denmark
Location: Middelfart, Fyn
Status: Offline
Posts: 953
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tue Romanow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2020 at 05:54
Thanks for the replies.

@addy Yes, I've tried all the buttons to no avail. I can see a difference on the screen when I press finder/monitor. It changes between the screen being completely off and being on but blacked out.

@pegelli Thanks. I'll try and contact them. Everything else in the camera works as it should. I shot most of the event without the screen working. It's almost like shooting film. No chimping! :D

I talked to a shop here in Denmark who could ship it out for repair. The guy estimated that it would cost somewhere between 350 and 400! I think that's a bit steep to be honest.
There's no such thing as too many lenses.
Back to Top
Stuart1701 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 October 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 460
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stuart1701 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2020 at 09:45
https://clevercreations.eu/sony-a77-articulated-screen-repair/

This is for an A77, but may be useful, according to the artical the A77ii is similar. You might be able to fix it yourself.

Edited by Stuart1701 - 25 August 2020 at 09:50
Stuart M.
Back to Top
Tue Romanow View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 September 2006
Country: Denmark
Location: Middelfart, Fyn
Status: Offline
Posts: 953
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tue Romanow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2020 at 08:29
@Stuart1701 Thanks. That's interesting! I might just try that...
There's no such thing as too many lenses.
 



Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.055 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.