FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

how big is your monitor?

Page  123>
Author
happyjack View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 10 April 2007
Country: Australia
Location: On The Road
Status: Offline
Posts: 3412
Post Options Post Options   Quote happyjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: how big is your monitor?
    Posted: 01 August 2021 at 11:00
HP ZR24w - I have one for a few years now. This is the 2nd one after I dropped the previous when moving.
I did have an Eizo 24" as well which I won in a magazine photo comp but sold it when I needed some extra cash.

I can't afford to replace the HP, but still like to occasionally window shop.
oh and as I live on the road in my wee 15' poptop caravan, the base is bolted to my table but the screen is removed and tucked away secure.
7D turned A77,77M2,MIN 50/1.4,MIN100/2.8macro,Sig10-20,F4-5.6,SAL70-300G,18-250,CZ16-80,SAL70-200/2.8,75-300,24-80/2.8SAM, TAm 150-600G2

My ZF
 



Back to Top
minolta_mutley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 August 2010
Country: Belgium
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Posts: 873
Post Options Post Options   Quote minolta_mutley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2021 at 09:43
I had to replace my screen (power supply issues) - I was thinking about replacement when Murphy hit, so we had to decide more quickly (and the LG i was waiting for was not yet available) - i even had to work with a 7" 4K monitor (a unit that i use on camera, cheaply bought in China, though it's not that bad at all IPS and 4K for a little more than 100) - it's now a 4K Benq 27" EW2780U - in fact i'm running it in normal HD mode - not 4K. And switching to 4K when needed.
Back to Top
Jozioau View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 13 May 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Online
Posts: 8346
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jozioau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2021 at 04:11
iMac built-in Retina 5K, 27 inch (5120 x 2880) Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB graphics.
"Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst" - Henri Cartier-Bresson
My FlickrPro site
Back to Top
keith_h View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 May 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 3125
Post Options Post Options   Quote keith_h Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2021 at 03:13
2x Acer 27" monitors. Gaming monitors since they were on special when I acquired them. They are nice and sharp with a high refresh rate and connected to a GTX1080 card via display port.

I need to wear glasses at the screen now. The uplift from 24" helps.
Back to Top
TxenTxo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 January 2011
Country: Spain
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote TxenTxo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 February 2021 at 11:59
AOC I2269VWM - Monitor 21.5"(resolution 1920 x 1080 Pixels, WLED, Contrast 1000:1, 5 ms, VGA), Color Black

Displayport is useless.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4023
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 20:30
On windows 10 the system seems to cope very well with different monitors in different sizes and orientations. There are a few oddities. Some programs always open in monitor 1, & some always open in the last display you used them in.
The key thing is to align them so that when a document spreads across both monitors, the lines line up, otherwise your eyes go funny.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
 



Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3634
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 20:27
Originally posted by dCap dCap wrote:

@Miranda - now then, a portrait way up monitor for documents/type - that would be cool

(goes off to find out how to actually do that)
(simple part = display settings > orientation > portrait)
(hard part (?) = a suitable monitor?)
Not that hard, quite a few monitors offer the option to rotate the screen. For example both of my monitors (Dell U2713HM and BenQ SW2700) have this feature.
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6154
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 18:49
@Miranda - now then, a portrait way up monitor for documents/type - that would be cool

(goes off to find out how to actually do that)
(simple part = display settings > orientation > portrait)
(hard part (?) = a suitable monitor?)

Edited by dCap - 20 January 2021 at 18:58
I can still remember how that music used to make me smile
- Don McLean
Back to Top
owenn01 View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 20 May 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Kent
Status: Offline
Posts: 11642
Post Options Post Options   Quote owenn01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 18:15
MacBookPro with a 13 inch retina display - I thought I would need a separate monitor but I seem to have become comfortable with that as a working setup somehow.

Best regards, Neil.
My Mantra: "Comment on other's work as you would wish to have yours commented upon". Go on - it's fun!
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4023
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 18:06
At work I use a pair of minotors (minotaurs? Monitors!), one in landscape and one in portrait. That way I can have a CAD or photo program open on the landscape and a document on the portrait, or I can move the photo across for portrait pictures, or I can extend the landscape across both monitors, putting the tools on the second monitor and leaving the main one free for pics. It works well msot of the time.
If you take a lot of pictures in vertical format, the limited height/resolution of most modern monitors is a nuisance. We don't all use them for watching Hollywood videos...
My colleague has four monitors on his PC ...
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 3202
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 14:23
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Why do so many people have a 21/22" screens? Feels like a weird size to me. Maybe 10 years ago it made sense, but now? That feeling is maybe because I went from 17" to 24" to 27" - but 21" seems really small for a dedicated photography screen in this day and age.

Working from home even the 27" feels small (in the office I have two 21" screens).
I've been using 13" Macbooks and MacBookPros for the last 15 years without any problem. Zooming and panning have become my friends though . Last year I upgraded to a 15" and enjoying the extra real estate, but it's plenty for me. No need for a monitor (I'm generally editing on my lap in front of the TV anyway
web
A9, A7Riii, A7R (full spectrum) 12f2.8, 15f2, 16-35f4, tam28-200, 35f1.8, 50 1.8, 85f1.8, 90f2.8, 135GM, 100-400GM, 200-600G, 1.4xTC // A: Sig 90f2.8 & 180f3.5
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6154
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 12:59
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

Got an old desktop with a dual monitor setup sitting idle in a room, don't think it's been started more than 3 times in the last 3 years. Fully rely on a laptop with a little 15" 1080p screen for all my editing needs.
Desktop and monitors were top of the line back when I built it 10+ years ago, nowadays it's mostly an antique I fear.


Yep, it took me forever to get comfortable with laptop prices to consider using one as my main production machine ... desktop for years (but just off the shelf as I've only ever shot stills and don't do gaming). When I got my Lenovo Yoga AMD 7 (or AMD 5 something? had a graphics card) it was a double change for me: 'just SSD' and 'laptop as main computer'. I'd been waiting years for that moment. My 'file server' desktop has SSD and a 1TB spinning drive and it is still plenty fast for what I use it for but is a once-a-week boot now.

Think I'm gonna continue with just my laptop screen for a few more months and see if my new desk (wooden shelving) fits my workflow. Have space for a 24" or 27" external ... editing my archive will let me know if I really miss/need the big screen.
I can still remember how that music used to make me smile
- Don McLean
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2618
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 07:40
Got an old desktop with a dual monitor setup sitting idle in a room, don't think it's been started more than 3 times in the last 3 years. Fully rely on a laptop with a little 15" 1080p screen for all my editing needs.
Desktop and monitors were top of the line back when I built it 10+ years ago, nowadays it's mostly an antique I fear.
Back to Top
Jozioau View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 13 May 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Online
Posts: 8346
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jozioau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 January 2021 at 07:18
I have a 27" iMac (5120 x 2280) with built in Retina display running on its default setting.
The actual display dimensions are 600 mm wide and 340mm high.
Very nice to work on.
"Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst" - Henri Cartier-Bresson
My FlickrPro site
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.