FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help with boot-up problem

Author
windhorse View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 February 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Mexico&Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 354
Post Options Post Options   Quote windhorse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with boot-up problem
    Posted: 24 July 2021 at 12:46
Just now in the middle of a very fine field trip my much-loved Sony A7R2 has gone awol, so not sure what to do?

The problem is when I turn the camera on the LCD screen starts flashing on and off, but gets no further, and even continues to flash on and off a few times times even after I switch it off.

I have tried shutting down, removing battery and trying to start again - both with and without lens and sd card.

I am not an expert but to me it seems like partly corrupted or some other problem with the software boot up sequence, perhaps with the camera struggling to sort out the stabiliser, shutter or some other component that has to be checked as part of the boot up sequence?

Unfortunately I have not yet got as far as the menu to reset the camera and I donít think there is any other way to reset this model apart from via the menu?

If I understand right it is also necessary to turn the camera on and access the menu to upgrade/reinstall the firmware?

Fortunately when I plug the camera into a wall socket via USB cable, the orange/yellow indicator light beside the USB inlet comes on and goes off when the battery in the camera is fully charged. My hope is this may mean the circuit board and other hardware components are ok, as I donít think this led light would work if for example the circuit board was fried?

Of course the most logical thing to do would be to send the camera to a Sony service center - but this is not so easy to arrange from where I am just now up in the mountains of Lapland in northern Sweden.

Fortunately the view is splended 😊

Any tips or advice about your experiences with similar issue most welcome.
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11431
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 July 2021 at 16:19
Does the screen display anything at all when it's flashing? Any data displayed or is it white, black, blue or static?
Firmware can't be reinstalled, only updated. Only thing I can think of is to check for stuck buttons and rapidly switching the power switch to clean the contacts. Have you tried a different card, checked the card slot for debris?
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Micholand View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 30 October 2005
Country: Germany
Location: MUC
Status: Offline
Posts: 15846
Post Options Post Options   Quote Micholand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 July 2021 at 17:35
What makes you think that the camera has a boot-up problem? Only because the LCD screen is not working any more?!

A none working display does not necessarily mean that the camera isn't "booted". The screen problem might be related to a loose or broken flex cable only.
So apart from the display flashing, is the camera reacting; does the shutter release when being pressed? What about the EVF, is it black or flashing too? Assuming the camera was set to auto switch between LCD screen+EVF and proximity sensor is ok and problem is related to the display only, you still should see something via the EVF, isn't it?
/Michael

DWEs don't grow on trees! | Posting images&links FAQ
Back to Top
Jadom View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 September 2014
Country: United States
Location: Poland, USA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1294
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jadom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 July 2021 at 19:19
I agree with Michael. It can be LCD problem only. I have 7M2 and I also have problem with LCD/view finder combo. I have it set to Auto what means that when a view finder is not covered - a monitor should display a view. It should but for some reason doesn't do it. I mean: most of the time doesn't but sometimes suddenly works how it suppose to work.
When I change menu settings to "Monitor" it works flawlessly but otherwise - not.
I have to check and clean tiny sensor located by view finder. Perhaps this is my problem.
Jack.SigmaDP1x,DP2M,SonyA7M2,Min: MC35F2.8, AF50F1.7, 70-210F, SL16-35F4, KironKine 80-200F4Macro, Promaster MC28F2.8, Rokinon 85f1.4, Samyang 14F2.8, Tamron: SP AF 28-75F2.8XR Di LD, 70-300 F4-5.6Di
Back to Top
windhorse View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 February 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Mexico&Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 354
Post Options Post Options   Quote windhorse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 July 2021 at 18:30
Thanks for these encouraging replies!

I donít believe the problem is a faulty LCD connection, as since my initial post i have noticed that at the same time as the LCD panel repeatedly flashes the sensor assembly inside the camera repeatedly moves slightly up and down and clicks, as if trying to calibrate or move into starting position but failing to do so. The sensor Spears to be quite glat. But Maybe the sensor has somehow got loose or out of alignment or the stabilising system has a problem?

In addition, i have also found out that when i connect the camera to my laptop then turn the camera on, the laptop beeps (as it always does when a harddisk or some other peripheral device is turned on - the only difference being that the laptop continues to beep repeatedly, as if the camera is being repeatedly switching off and on. For this reason, I suspect the camera switches on, tries to boot up, is deterred from doing so by some fault like a loose mirror or faulty stabilising system, crashes, then bravely tries to boot up again, crashes again etc etc?

Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 278
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 July 2021 at 21:25
There may not be a simple fix to your problem. It seems you have already tried to force the camera to do a full/cold boot up:
Turn off, unmount the lens, take out the battery and wait at least 1 minute (to clear memory settings etc) before reinserting the battery and turn on the camera.

(When you as usual just switch off with a charged battery in place, the camera goes into some sort of sleep mode and wake up again when you turn it on - so not technically a real boot up.)

I have not seen any description on hard reset with buttons on E-mount cameras. But on older A-mount cameras like Sony A68 you can do a hard reset this way:
Turn ON the camera.
Press the MENU, Playback and MOVIE buttons simultaneously.
While Pressing these buttons, turn OFF the camera.
Release your fingers, and wait over 30 seconds.
Press the MENU, Playback and MOVIE buttons simultaneously again.
While Pressing these buttons, now turn ON the camera.
Release your fingers.
https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/downloads/Z0005607

Others describe it a little different:
Turn off camera, take out battery, insert battery again, turn camera on.
Press these 3 buttons Menu+Movie+Playback simultaneously
Turn camera off without releasing buttons,
turn camera on, Alpha logo should appears, count to 5 and release buttons.

On A77 it may work with Menu+Movie+AEL ?

This will probably not work on E-mount cameras, but I don't think it will hurt in any way.

I have no idea of what causes the error in your camera. But electronic devices like Sony cameras are prone to failure in a moist environment. Temperature differences may cause condensation inside. Be sure to dry the camera thoroughly if it has been suffering from wet conditions. Of course, apart from electronic failure, mechanical failure also happens.
 



Back to Top
windhorse View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 February 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Mexico&Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 354
Post Options Post Options   Quote windhorse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 July 2021 at 22:58
Thanks, i tried to follow the hard reset instructions but it appears they donít work on the A7RII.

I will store the camera and test it again after a while to see if it decides to recover.

Meanwhile, I found another smaller and older camera to use until i get home and have time to look into repair options.

Back to Top
momech View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2929
Post Options Post Options   Quote momech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 July 2021 at 01:54
Checking for a stuck button is a good idea - happened to me with my A7RIV. My A7RIV had its AF ON/ENLARGE button stuck in and went crazy whenever I turned it on, and ran the battery down in very short order. Was starting to pack it to ship for repair when I noticed the stuck button. Managed to pop it up and work some contact cleaner around it and it's been fine ever since.
It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 278
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2021 at 18:13
Please take a look at these two treads about A7Rii boot problems (one that has a simple solution):
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4435248
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4449484

Maybe your problem could be related?

Edited by amrep - 02 August 2021 at 18:16
Back to Top
windhorse View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 February 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Mexico&Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 354
Post Options Post Options   Quote windhorse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2021 at 19:34
Thanks for this good suggestion that i have tried to follow with 3 different fully-charged batteries but unfortunately in this particular case does not work.

Whenever I plug the camera into my laptop and open Play Memories, the computer beeps repeatedly (in synch with the flashing of the rear LCD on the camera), as if repeatedly identifying but not recognising a new external periphery, leading me to believe the power system or boot up system of the camera is repeatedly crashing, attempting to restart, and crashing again.. perhaps due to failure of an electronic component?

Also the camera sensor jiggles and if attached the lens emits a slight whispering noise every time the Rear led flashes, so I am curious to know if the sensor also slightly moves up and down a tiny fraction in a healthy camera during the start up process?

Just hope I donít start beeping like this when I wake up in the morning! 😊

Edited by windhorse - 02 August 2021 at 23:36
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.262 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.