FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A7R mk 3 autofocus voes

Page  12>
Author
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13075
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A7R mk 3 autofocus voes
    Posted: 31 March 2022 at 06:13
Originally posted by arj arj wrote:

Wait a minute! So you are telling me the A7 series does not keep the lens aperture wide open until I press the shutter but it sets the aperture to my preset aperture and keeps it there until I change it?

That makes no sense to me.
Why doesn't it make sense to you? It simply is a different way of doing things. It has some benefits and some downsides - like all things.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3539
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2022 at 04:25
There are many advantages to keeping the aperture stopped down. It eliminates the lag required for closing the aperture before the exposure begins. It allows full-time preview of the depth-of-field. It avoid focus errors due to focus shift with aperture change--I really wish that was an option for A-mount lenses.

The most recent Sony E-mount lenses support a new Aperture Drive in AF option with the most recent camera bodies.

Standard:
Uses the standard aperture drive system.

Focus Priority:
Changes the aperture drive system to prioritize auto-focusing performance. During continuous shooting using the electronic shutter, the [Focus Priority] setting allows you to continuously adjust the focus with an F-value greater than F11.

Silent Priority :
Changes the aperture drive system to prioritize silence so that the sound from the aperture drive is quieter than in [Standard].

Also setting the Live View Setting Effect Off allows some E-mount cameras to open the aperture to focus.

Edited by QuietOC - 31 March 2022 at 04:30
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
arj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 April 2010
Country: Slovakia
Location: Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Posts: 359
Post Options Post Options   Quote arj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2022 at 03:16
Wait a minute! So you are telling me the A7 series does not keep the lens aperture wide open until I press the shutter but it sets the aperture to my preset aperture and keeps it there until I change it?

That makes no sense to me.
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3539
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2022 at 19:59
Yes. A7, A7II, A7RII, and A7RIII phase-detect is limited to F8. So the 200-600 G on the 1.4X only allows phase-detect on the wide end. I am not sure about A7RIII but on some cameras you can change the aperture behavior during AF to allow the aperture to open more before the actual capture.

The A7III has phase-detect down to F11.

Edited by QuietOC - 29 March 2022 at 20:03
Sony A7RIV LA-EA5
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9
Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2959
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2022 at 19:00
If I remember correctly, the A7III will focus using phase detect at smaller apertures over f8, but the A7rIII won't. A7III was introduced after the A9 and inherited some of its AF performance. The A7rIII introduced at least a year earlier didn't have that and the AF points don't cover as much of the sensor. I think I have read that about turning of steady shot at very fast shutter speeds, but I have no experience with such fast speeds.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13075
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2022 at 17:42
And there you have it. Keep it below f/8 for the best results. At f/10 is only uses contrast detect AF, at f/8 and below it also uses phase detect AF.

It focuses stopped down, unlike DSLR/SLT's.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
arj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 April 2010
Country: Slovakia
Location: Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Posts: 359
Post Options Post Options   Quote arj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2022 at 17:18
Using wide and stopping down to F10. In general the overall experience with the A7R3 is good and the keeper rate is high, but not so good when things start moving too fast around me.

Also, I noticed that disabling the OSS on the 200-600mm lens yields better results. Either the lens is overcompensating or just not performing better with OSS on. Tried all 3 modes, but just disabling OSS yields best results.
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 3201
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 March 2022 at 12:41
I know this isn't helpful, but AF on my A7iii is notably better than on my A7Riii. If action I'm turning to the former, for landscapes I'm turning to the latter.

In terms of settings though, I think you're right to use AF-C, but I would also use 'wide' AF zone. You could of course also use a narrower aperture to have a greater margin for error.
web
A9, A7Riii, A7R (full spectrum) 12f2.8, 15f2, 16-35f4, tam28-200, 35f1.8, 50 1.8, 85f1.8, 90f2.8, 135GM, 100-400GM, 200-600G, 1.4xTC // A: Sig 90f2.8 & 180f3.5
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1512
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 18:00
Originally posted by arj arj wrote:

Originally posted by Hobgoblin Hobgoblin wrote:

If this is the A7riii and not the A7riiia what version of firmware does it have? There were firmware upgrades for the A7riii some time back which was supposed to upgrade the AF.


Apologies, it is the A7RM3A. But as far I know that is basically the A7RM3 with upgrades to LCD and better battery life, no changes to AF as such.


OK then there is no upgrade as the A7riiia incorporated all the upgrades that had been released for the A7riii.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13075
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 17:46
Originally posted by Hezu Hezu wrote:

Originally posted by Hobgoblin Hobgoblin wrote:

If this is the A7riii and not the A7riiia what version of firmware does it have? There were firmware upgrades for the A7riii some time back which was supposed to upgrade the AF.
I still have a feeling that despite the firmware updates, α7R III lags a nod behind in AF capabilities when compared with the newer cameras (and α9 that came little earlier) and this is most evident in fast action situations.
AFAIK the A7r3 didn't get the Real Time Tracking AF system because the processor was not powerful enough - that is in line with what you say.

I would also look at the information by Mark Galer's tutorials like Kelly (AudioDoc) said.

Edited by addy landzaat - 24 March 2022 at 18:05
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2959
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 16:26
Maros,
I'm no expert at photographing jet aircraft, but I would expect it to be challenging for any camera and lens combo! Of course you need a very fast shutter speed and smaller aperture for more depth of field, but really I would not expect that aircraft to be that close so maybe they should be more towards infinity? Anyway the lens would also need to be able to focus quickly, which I would expect of that lens. Also the camera needs some vertical lines to lock on to. I'm sure there are members here that have experience here with jet aircraft and like I say, I don't. I shoot a lot of trains, and they are never that fast moving. I still have to remember t keep my shutter speed up. I use lock on flexible spot a lot. I know where the train is coming from and set the camera up to focus at the point. It will then lock on and track the train. I use the AF on button for focus (back button focus) and shoot in manual mode with auto ISO so that I have the shutter and aperture that I need. But I'm using the A7III not the "r".
Hopefully you get some input from others here that have the A7rIII and shoot aircraft. Let us know if you get this figured out. Have you watched any of Mark Galer's tutorials. He provides some good advise on settings for the A7III and A7rIII. I'm interested in what you find because I would like to eventually upgrade to an "r" series if the price is right.
Regards,
Kelly
Back to Top
arj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 April 2010
Country: Slovakia
Location: Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Posts: 359
Post Options Post Options   Quote arj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 13:15
Originally posted by Hobgoblin Hobgoblin wrote:

If this is the A7riii and not the A7riiia what version of firmware does it have? There were firmware upgrades for the A7riii some time back which was supposed to upgrade the AF.


Apologies, it is the A7RM3A. But as far I know that is basically the A7RM3 with upgrades to LCD and better battery life, no changes to AF as such.
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1512
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 09:34
Originally posted by Hezu Hezu wrote:

Originally posted by Hobgoblin Hobgoblin wrote:

If this is the A7riii and not the A7riiia what version of firmware does it have? There were firmware upgrades for the A7riii some time back which was supposed to upgrade the AF.
I still have a feeling that despite the firmware updates, α7R III lags a nod behind in AF capabilities when compared with the newer cameras (and α9 that came little earlier) and this is most evident in fast action situations.


I don't doubt that the A7iv and a7riv have better autofocus as does the A9 but the OP has the A7riii and if it was bought used or is older stock it may not have been updated to the latest version which was supposed to improve AF.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Online
Posts: 2617
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2022 at 08:50
You would think that at the distances involved DOF would cover minute focusing errors but with aircraft coming towards you ending out OOF but going aircraft ending up sharp (1/3 infront of the focusing point and 2/3 behind focusing point generally thought as being in DOF) could it just be shutter delay?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.