FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A850 and A7ii dilemma

Page  <12
Author
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3023
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 September 2022 at 17:57
Originally posted by Basil Basil wrote:



Since retiring, my camera money has been drastically reduced. Before doing anything else, I need a computer upgrade to handle larger files and updated post processing programs. I cant even load a new raw converter on my old system, so for now, the A6600 is jpeg only. If I find something I want to process more thoroughly, I still capture a raw file for use at a later date.   


I'm not sure what software your using , but I'm running Lightroom 5 as a standalone program. Not the online version , CC .
When I got an a7Riv last year and an a99ii earlier this year I could only process JPEGs as the RAWs aren't recognised and I'm not paying a subscription.
I had been looking at alternatives that were standalone , but then it got mentioned about Adobe Camera Raw , where it converts any cameras RAW files into Adobe RAW , which is compatible with all the Lightroom stand alone programs .
You can batch import / convert the Sony RAWs and either just save the Adobe RAW files , or keep both .

The softwares free to download from Adobe , and there's a good chance whatever processing software your using is compatible with it anyway , as it's a format that's been used a long time .

It just adds a minute or two when your importing , so no big deal .

It'll be free to try out anyway .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
amozak View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 10 July 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Branch Mi
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Post Options Post Options   Quote amozak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 September 2022 at 22:51
OMG! If 1985 is vintage than I must be one of those.......fossils
Back to Top
amozak View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 10 July 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Branch Mi
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Post Options Post Options   Quote amozak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 00:17
Seriously, which adapter if any will adapt an MD mount lens to an E mount camera and let the camera control the aperture as in closing down when the shutter is pressed?
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3023
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 00:38
Originally posted by amozak amozak wrote:

Seriously, which adapter if any will adapt an MD mount lens to an E mount camera and let the camera control the aperture as in closing down when the shutter is pressed?


MD ? ( that'd be SR mount ) non . Doesn't exist .
You have to turn the aperture ring to stop the lens down , the EVF compensates for the reduced light anyway so you still get a good bright view .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
amozak View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 10 July 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Branch Mi
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Post Options Post Options   Quote amozak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 01:12
Ah, ok. So I must manually set the aperture and the camera sets the shutter speed. Doesn't seem to be an inconvenience. Thank you for helping me out. I think back in the day they called it a preset lense.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3023
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 01:34
Originally posted by amozak amozak wrote:

Ah, ok. So I must manually set the aperture and the camera sets the shutter speed. Doesn't seem to be an inconvenience. Thank you for helping me out. I think back in the day they called it a preset lense.



As long as the camera is set to aperture priority , then yes , it will use a suitable shutter speed for correct exposure .
And yes , when your adapting lens via dumb adapters , they work the same as pre-set lenses did .
The only difference being is you have a nice bright EVF , rather than a very dim OVF when the lens was stopped down .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
amozak View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 10 July 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Branch Mi
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Post Options Post Options   Quote amozak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 01:43
Gotcha! Thanks again! Ha, so you know what a preset lense is, we may be of the same age group
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 212
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 02:41
Since this is partially an a850 discussion, I'll add that since the a850 (and a900) have optical viewfinders, using any Minolta SR/MC/MD lenses will darken the viewfinder as you stop down. Some find that an inconvenience.

I'll also add that in addition to using the cameras in A exposure mode, you can use them in M exposure mode to get a correct exposure. And while S mode will not work, P might -- I've never tried it.
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
http://www.subclub.org/toko
http://www.subclub.org/fujinon
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3023
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 08:59
Originally posted by amozak amozak wrote:

Gotcha! Thanks again! Ha, so you know what a preset lense is, we may be of the same age group


When I started off in photography I bought quite a few preset lenses , m42 or T2 , to use on an old Zenith camera .
I was on a very small budget being still at school ( late 1980's) . These were sold very cheap at my local camera shop as by then everyone wanted autofocus gear only .

It was in the early 90's when I bought a used Minolta 7000AF camera and lenses , though I think I've still got some of those preset lenses .
The telephoto lenses did o.k , the wide angle ones weren't especially good , but when it's all you had , they did the job .   
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 212
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 13:36
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

When I started off in photography I bought quite a few preset lenses , m42 or T2 , to use on an old Zenith camera .


Do you mean Zenit?
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
http://www.subclub.org/toko
http://www.subclub.org/fujinon
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3023
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 13:56
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

When I started off in photography I bought quite a few preset lenses , m42 or T2 , to use on an old Zenith camera .


Do you mean Zenit?


No . I meant Zenith .
Some FSU cameras were made in several factories , intended for several markets , domestic and export .

Depending on what factory and where it was intended for the camera might have had different names on it , Zenit , Zenith , Zorki , Zorky , FED , Kiev etc .

Here's an eBay listing for the first medium format SLR I had , a Zenith 80 .
Zenith 80
I'm not sure if it was also marketed as a "Zenit" .
I later upgraded it to a Kiev 88 which I still have and use .

I can't remember which model of 35mm SLR it was , but it was definitely badged as "Zenith".

Focal press did a range of guide books that also used the name Zenith , rather than Zenit .

focal press guide book on Zenith cameras

Both are correct , the cameras are the same item , it's just the history of the camera that's different.
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
amozak View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 10 July 2014
Country: United States
Location: West Branch Mi
Status: Offline
Posts: 53
Post Options Post Options   Quote amozak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 14:06
My first camera was a Yashica 635 TLR that I purchased from a fellow Marine way back in 1970. How times have changed with what we have to chose from now!
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 212
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2022 at 16:05
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:



No . I meant Zenith .
Some FSU cameras were made in several factories , intended for several markets , domestic and export .

Depending on what factory and where it was intended for the camera might have had different names on it , Zenit , Zenith , Zorki , Zorky , FED , Kiev etc .

Here's an eBay listing for the first medium format SLR I had , a Zenith 80 .
Zenith 80
I'm not sure if it was also marketed as a "Zenit" .
I later upgraded it to a Kiev 88 which I still have and use .

I can't remember which model of 35mm SLR it was , but it was definitely badged as "Zenith".

Focal press did a range of guide books that also used the name Zenith , rather than Zenit .

focal press guide book on Zenith cameras

Both are correct , the cameras are the same item , it's just the history of the camera that's different.


Thanks for pointing that out. I've got the book "Authentic Guide to Russian and Soviet Cameras Made in USSR" by Jean Loup Princelle, and it never mentions "ZENITH" at all -- not even in the history section for KMZ. It's unfortunate that he left that out, but obviously some ZENIT cameras were meant for Western markets and marked as ZENITH. It's also interesting that the ZENIT website never mentions the word "ZENITH".

You learn something new every day.

Let me quote from someone who knows much more about this:

"The British put an "H" at the end of Zenit and several original KMZ Zenit cameras are marked as "Zenith". In the advertising of the era they always refered them as Zenith although pictures showed cameras as Zenit . Another country to do so is Greece. Another funny thing: KMZ Zenits as Zeniflex in France, MeproZenit in Japan, Revueflex in Germany, Cosmorex in USA. Pinzflex also in G.B.
There were even a LOMO Kompakt sold as Zenith LCA.
The British retail chain Dixons rebranded some Zenits as Prinzflex."



Edited by XKAES - 02 September 2022 at 19:26
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
http://www.subclub.org/toko
http://www.subclub.org/fujinon
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.093 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.