FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to open Dynax 5D raw files from memory card?

Author
tomasg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 January 2023
Country: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote tomasg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to open Dynax 5D raw files from memory card?
    Posted: 25 January 2023 at 16:04
Hi.
I'm new to Dynax cameras, and I have a weird issue. When I shoot jpg with Dynax 5D and then add the memory card to the card reader, all images show up just fine in my computer. I go to drive in Windows 11, check DCIM >> 100KM028 or other folder, and files are there.

When I shoot raw, things get weird. Files are saved to the card, I can view images in camera, but if I connect memory card to computer, Windows don't show any files in folders. System shows that drive is not empty - there certainly is data. But folders are empty.

What am I missing? Do I need some special sofware? O do I have a problem with a camera? Any tips?

Tried few perfectly working CF cards.

P.S. I'm not newbie with cameras, raw files or generally with files and computers :)
 



Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 3188
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 16:30
If I am understanding you correctly, you have no photo editing software?
As far as I know, MS Windows has no RAW processing ability built in. You will need some kind of photo software, i.e. from Adobe etc.
Back to Top
tomasg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 January 2023
Country: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote tomasg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 16:39
The problem is a bit different. I literally can't find raw files in the card :) For example - I add card to card reader. Windows shows that drive E: has 500MB occupied from 1GB, but when I go to that drive, it shows empty folders.

If I open the card from my Nikon cameras, all raw files (like DSC123.NEF, etc...) are in the drive - I can locate and copy them. But if I open card from Dynax, card does not show any files.

I tried opening the card using Adobe Bridge - the same thing. Software thinks it does not have any files, but the space is occupied, and raw images show up just fine in camera if I put card back to Dynax :)

Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3092
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 16:59
Have you formatted the card in the camera before taking pictures with it ?
If the card was last used in a Nikon camera and was formatted to work in a Nikon camera ( or any other brand for that matter ) you will likely have problems.

Whenever you put a card in a camera , regardless of if it's old or new ( card or camera ) , format the card via the cameras menu .
Don't format the card whilst it's in the card reader with the PC.
Again this can cause problems.

When I've imported the images to my PC and return the card to the camera I format it to clear the card rather than delete the files .
Seems to be the best option and was the recommended way years ago . No harm continuing like this now .

Regards seeing the RAW files on a Windows PC , you'll only see the files , not the image .
You'll need to view that in your image editing software.
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 236
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 17:48
Windows doesn't show them because it can't see that type of file. Get Minolta, Sony, or other imaging software that can read Minolta RAW files. Not all imaging software can read MINOLTA RAW files. Each company creates its own "flavor" of RAW files. Minolta RAW files are called "*.ARW", Sony is "*.SRW", etc.
Do you have a manual for your camera? Read it.
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
http://www.subclub.org/toko
http://www.subclub.org/fujinon
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13716
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 17:50
When you connect the camera to the computer, is that different?
Did you try another computer?
Maybe the files are hidden?
Just some random thoughts.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3092
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 17:53
And welcome to the forum .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Matt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 November 2005
Country: Netherlands
Location: Limburg
Status: Offline
Posts: 719
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 18:06
Open an old fashioned command prompt in Windows (not the powershell). Change drive to the CF card and do a 'dir /a' command to check for files. If the picture files are in a subdirectory, change into that first.

Regarding Windows and RAW files: IIRC there is a RAW file extension package that one can download from Microsoft. It then shows proper thumbnails of MRW and ARW files in the Windows Explorer.

Edited by Matt - 25 January 2023 at 18:13
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2613
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2023 at 18:55
Sony RAW files show up fine in Windows Explorer on my PC - I use Irfanview as my default viewer, if Windows can't read them I guess it is Irfanview creating the thumbnails.

Irfanview is free and reads almost any image format. It provides basic editing functions and can convert to a wide range of formats. I do use Lightroom/Photoshop for most editing but Irfanview is well worth having on your machine.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14439
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2023 at 06:02
It's not necessary to have Minolta MRW codecs installed in order to see that MRW files are present on a memory card. Something else is causing the problem.

I think I've read about this kind of thing happening, and a solution was presented, but I don't remember what it was.
Back to Top
gigo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 March 2008
Country: Japan
Location: Yokohama
Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Post Options Post Options   Quote gigo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2023 at 06:50
Maybe this helps you.

How to Recover Lost MRW Files:
https://www.stellarinfo.com/blog/how-to-recover-lost-mrw-files/

Edited by gigo - 30 January 2023 at 18:06
ILCE-1, FE:14/24/35/STF/135/100400GM, 90M/2070/200600G+6, 1.4x/2xTC
ILCE-QX1, Full Sprctrum NEX-5R, E:2
LA-EA5, A:35G/100S/200M/500R,3x-1x +7, SIGMA MC-11 + Canon EF8-15 FishEye
Back to Top
vitor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2006
Country: Portugal
Location: Lisbon
Status: Offline
Posts: 1991
Post Options Post Options   Quote vitor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2023 at 08:13
From your description it looks like the camera is corrupting the FAT partition of the card.

Have you tried to shoot RAW+JPG? Is the result the same?
What size, brand and model is the memory card?

Test with a smaller card (2GB) and format the card in camera.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14439
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2023 at 16:21
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

Windows doesn't show them because it can't see that type of file. Get Minolta, Sony, or other imaging software that can read Minolta RAW files. Not all imaging software can read MINOLTA RAW files.

As I mentioned, that's not necessary in order for Windows to see that the files are present on the memory card.

Each company creates its own "flavor" of RAW files. Minolta RAW files are called "*.ARW", Sony is "*.SRW", etc.

Minolta RAW files are MRW. Old Sony RAW files were SRF or SR2. Newer ones are ARW.

Do you have a manual for your camera? Read it.

To the OP:

Make sure that File Explorer is set to display file extensions and show hidden files, then check every folder and subfolder on the card for MRW files. They should show up somewhere.

Edited by sybersitizen - 30 January 2023 at 17:16
Back to Top
tomasg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 January 2023
Country: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote tomasg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 February 2023 at 11:45
Sorry for the late response. My silly mistake. Tried old school card reader, stopped using the same card on Dynax and D700, and now all is fine

Bought this beauty untested with Sigma 28-70 3.5-4.5, thought it may be faulty. But seems to be in fine condition. Will need to get couple of primes (maybe Minolta AF 28/2.8 and Minolta AF 50/1.7) and bring it to life again :)
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.