FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Design fault with A7Siii (Solution?)

Author
Caprice View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 22 February 2016
Country: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 93
Post Options Post Options   Quote Caprice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Design fault with A7Siii (Solution?)
    Posted: 02 October 2023 at 02:05
Hi,
I recently purchased an A7Siii specifically for filming.
I use a gimbal which plugs into the Micro USB connection for recording purposes.
I have found that when I'm shooting up high or down low, ideally I have the screen facing up or down as I used to do with my previous A7Rii camera.
With this camera, I need the screen opened out in order to rotate it but I can't as it is hindered by the Micro USB cable.
If Sony had swapped the Micro slots with the HDMI slot, there wouldn't be an issue.
Question is: can I plug the gimbal into the HDMI port via an adapter (If such a thing exists?)
I'd prefer not to use a field monitor due to extra weight and complexity issues.
Cheers for any solutions.

Edited by Caprice - 02 October 2023 at 02:08
 



Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Online
Posts: 4167
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 October 2023 at 07:56
I have no experience in video gimbals nor α7S III, but if the multi/micro-USB terminal is used for remote control then I presume no other port could be used. For power supply USB-C port would be option, but I guess use of that port would be no different regarding screen movements as the two USB ports are behind the same door. HDMI would be useful choice only it the connection is for video output.

α7R V has improved screen mechanism that does not hinder entry to the side doors, but if I have understood correctly its video features are somewhat less sophiscated. But perhaps α7S IV or some other future video oriented Sony camera model will adopt the same mechanism.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 14522
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 October 2023 at 09:33
This might or might not be useful: https://youtu.be/kyttfMeraBI?si=grxDZ9-FH1Pdz3vi
I came across this video about how to remove the doors of the A7s3 - I don't know if the doors are your problem.

What gimbal do you use? Does it offer a Bluetooth solution? If not, it looks like you're out of luck it seems. HDMI is video (and audio?) output, not camera control.

Here is a reddit thread about the audio connections (your next problem): https://www.reddit.com/r/A7siii/comments/o105vt/major_a7siii_design_flaw/
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Caprice View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 22 February 2016
Country: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 93
Post Options Post Options   Quote Caprice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 October 2023 at 10:43
Yes, you're right, accessing both ports are an issue.
I may have to look at it from the gimbal's end.
Cheers for the reply.

My gimbal is a Moza Air.
Cheers for the YT link, I'll check it out.
Appreciate the info guys!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.