FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A6600 menu options, any tips?

Author
Raabje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 July 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 74
Post Options Post Options   Quote Raabje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A6600 menu options, any tips?
    Posted: 31 May 2024 at 13:35
hello Forum,

I have bought an A6600, I traded my Nex 5 and 6 camera's at MPB in Berlin. My A6600 is in like new condition. I have chosen the A6600 because of the bigger battery (I own a few already) and the IBIS.

I have to say I am overwhelmed with the menu options. Coming from old technology, the A6600 has a lot of options.

I am reading the manual, I have changed a few settings (apart from the obvious as JPG quality etc.):

e shutter off (because of use Samyang 35mm lens)
change AF points and area with vertical/horizontal position
human eye tracking on

I think the white balance under button C1 is not needed, I can change that.

I have no clue how to use the memory settings, I have to experiment with that.

ISO limiting in relationship with shutterspeed seems useful, I have to choose the boundaries for this.

Are there pointers or tips from other members to streamline the use of this camera?




Edited by Raabje - 31 May 2024 at 13:49
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 15296
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2024 at 17:32
I have the A6400, basically the A6600 with the old battery and no IBIS.

Some of my settings:

Focus mode: continuous AF / Tracking: center or Flexible Spot
I feel this is the best setting in most situation as the tracking is amazing. Just pick your subject with the centre focus and recompose. It stays in focus.

What do you mean by "e shutter"? Silent shooting (full electronic shutter) or the e-front curtain shutter? And why is the Samyang 35mm relevant for this choice?

I have the FINDER/MONITOR toggle on C1. Make it something YOU use a lot. It is a convenient position.

I have monitor brightness set to Sunny Weather as I find the screen a bit dim.

Being left eye dominant I found the touch operation useless, so I turned it off.

Fill the Copyright info.

Check the firmware.

I feel most of the rest is personal preference. There are some videos on YouTube where people share their settings.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Raabje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 July 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 74
Post Options Post Options   Quote Raabje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2024 at 17:55
Okay, thanks!

Firmware is up to date. I will try your recommendations.

electronic front curtain shutter, in the manual I read this:

When a lens made by another manufacturer (including a Minolta/Konica-Minolta lens) is used, set this function to [Off]. If you set this function to [On], the correct exposure will not be set or the image brightness will be uneven.

I use a Samyang 35mm and Sigma 56mm next to a Sony Zeiss 24mm. Maybe this setting doesn't matter anyway?

I found out I can construct my own Menu page with selected items, I have on one page:
Face/Eye AF set,
Focus Area,
Focus Mode,
Face Priority in multi metering,
ISO setting.

I have the C4 button for Face/Eye priority on/off.

Eye focus and tracking is a great feature. I slowly get a hang to it.





Edited by Raabje - 01 June 2024 at 09:06
Back to Top
Raabje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 July 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 74
Post Options Post Options   Quote Raabje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2024 at 09:29
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:


Focus mode: continuous AF / Tracking: center or Flexible Spot
I feel this is the best setting in most situation as the tracking is amazing. Just pick your subject with the centre focus and recompose. It stays in focus.



I see that when I focus with this method, when I recompose, in A mode, the shutter speed (and off course aperture) is locked and the ISO values changes.

I guess when you recompose just a little bit this doesn't matter, but maybe in extreme lightning conditions this would give an too high ISO value (when going from light to dark)? If ISO is set to a narrow limit (like 800 max) maybe shutter speed changes again. I will try it later today myself.

I also am wondering what this recall custom hold 1-2-3 setting does. Memory position 1 and 2 on the top dial wheel in understandable. This recall custom hold function seems like extra memory positions.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3406
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2024 at 10:42
As far as most custom functions go ,most are personal preferences.

Regards the electronic first curtain, I have mine set to "on" .
I use some a Sony E lenses but also some Canon EF lenses via the MC-11,and both Sony and Minolta A mount lenses via the LA-EA5 as well as Minolta Vectis lenses via the LV-EA MK2 monster adapter .
All with no problems.

The only time I need to turn it off is with some older lenses such as my Minolta 1x-3x Macro zoom lens when using flash .
I suspect it's the non "D" lenses with Minolta ring flash that's the problem.
As I don't use flash much I'm not sure if it's a more consistent problem .

Try it first and find out with the lenses you have .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 15296
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2024 at 08:09
I feel the warning about third party lenses is for adapted A-mount lenses and the delay caused by closing the aperture to slow. Never noticed any difference with non-Sony E-mount lenses.
I have the EFCS on as well, it is the standard setting. But reports say there might be a slight decrease in dynamic range and there can be an effect on bokeh. Turning it off is fine.

Re. AF-C: yes, if lighting is critical and you use one of the automated metering settings it might be a problem. In practice it seldom is. Some solutions:
- With flexible spot you can move the focus point by hand if needed.
- Use back button focus
- Use AEL - I have my AEL set to spot metering for difficult lighting
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 15296
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2024 at 13:19
Just checked, but in AF-C Tracking the camera adjusts the metering when I move the camera to change the composition. Even with the shutter button depressed have way. So, no problem.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.