FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

m42 adapters: results summary

Page  123 17>
Author
Freddan_6 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2012
Country: Sweden
Location: Lund
Status: Offline
Posts: 314
Post Options Post Options   Quote Freddan_6 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: m42 adapters: results summary
    Posted: 11 March 2016 at 08:23
I bought a thin enough chip-less adapter from ebay seller big_is and also thin enough chipped from ebay seller roxsen. The chipped was totaly smeared with hot glue. After trying it on one camera (A77) one of the camera's lens contact got stuck in in position and the camera could not find any lens. I found the problem and peeled of the hot-glue from the camera with a needle. I removed the chip from the roxsen adapter and use it as non-chipped.
Sony A77, Sony A35, Sony A99: Tons of Minolta lenses, 5 Sony lenses, 2 Sigma and 3 Tamron and 5 M42
my flickr
 



Back to Top
SinfulSaint View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 September 2012
Country: Croatia
Location: DU
Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote SinfulSaint Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 September 2012 at 18:16
I got this "lengril" one here. Works fine now. Had to adjust it a bit by using and electrical tape.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/220873827708
Back to Top
stflbn View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 16 May 2012
Country: United States
Location: Nashville
Status: Offline
Posts: 43
Post Options Post Options   Quote stflbn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2012 at 19:41

I've been very happy with the relatively cheap M42 adapters I picked up on Ebay and use on my Jupiter and Helios lenses.
Back to Top
Kilkry View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 August 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: ISO1600
Status: Offline
Posts: 2700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kilkry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2011 at 09:51
I've acquired two cheap m42 adapters via ebay in the last year or so, both of which where too thick for infinity focus with my Volna 9 and CZJ 135.

1. Silver/chromish thing from seller hensenshop_de

2. AF confirm black adapter from seller esemensky.

Many here seem to have good luck with random cheap adapters, but my experiences echo Arkku's here: http://www.lurvely.com/photo/428120733/M42_to_Minolta_AF_adapter_comparison/

Therefore, I've ordered a multi-aperture m42 adapter from james lao (as finding sand paper suitable for metal would be a bit of a challenge); I'm hoping it will allow focus to infinity.
-
Back to Top
clockwork247 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 376
Post Options Post Options   Quote clockwork247 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2011 at 04:46
Originally posted by Dorset Mike Dorset Mike wrote:

The main purpose of the chip is to make the camera "see" the lens.



In very basic terms when the camera is switched on the processor initially checks each camera function and also sends a signal to the contacts on the lens, the chip responds saying in effect yes there is a lens fitted and my maximum aperture is xx (xx = an F value programmed into the chip, usually during manufacture)



If the camera sees this then the focus confirm will function, if the adapter has no chip, it can not respond to the camera, hence the focus confirm function is not made available.





I order a chipped adaptor, but my lens is an f/1.4, i think most chipped adaptors are program max at f/1.7, you think it'll meter right?
Back to Top
k9tales View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 January 2008
Country: United States
Location: Bass Harbor ME.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2104
Post Options Post Options   Quote k9tales Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 February 2011 at 03:28
My M42 adapter I have fits tight. I put it on my 7D or Sony A550 (can't remember which cam I used), and I had to put a little'wrist action' to get it on; although I put it on slowly. It did seat well on the camera as well as the lens mount. But I am worried about doing any damage to the camera mount ring. I'm using it with a Carl Zeiss Jena DDR 135mm/3.5 MC.

I think have only had it on once on my 7D (maybe my A550 but I have ordered another one from Rugift from the list here on a previous page. I did have one but also sold it. that one was anodized and I bought if for some Tak Pentax lenses) There was no problem at all putting it on and seemed to work ok. I didn't use the lens much and sold both.

Is it safe to use silver one, being a little tight, or just use the anodized adapter when i get it?

Thanks,
Lynn

Minolta 28-105mm RS|MD|AR|Tokina 500mm/8 |Tamron Adaptall|Lensbaby 3G|
 



Back to Top
jaepark View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 March 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote jaepark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2010 at 07:59
Originally posted by Arkku Arkku wrote:

re. camera error, do you mean that you get the error when you take a picture or just when you try to use the adapter? If it only occurs when you take a picture, are you sure that you have selected the largest available aperture setting on the camera (regardless of whether or not it matches your lens)? If you select any smaller aperture, the camera will try to actuate the aperture mechanically and this may sometimes cause an error if the actuator hits the lens…


Ah, I guess that could be it, I did shoot with the aperture setting was not the widest (I tried to match the actual I used, and I guess that could be it!

Thanks!!
Sony + Fujifilm + Olympus
Back to Top
Arkku View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2007
Country: Finland
Location: Helsinki
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Post Options Post Options   Quote Arkku Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2010 at 11:55
re. camera error, do you mean that you get the error when you take a picture or just when you try to use the adapter? If it only occurs when you take a picture, are you sure that you have selected the largest available aperture setting on the camera (regardless of whether or not it matches your lens)? If you select any smaller aperture, the camera will try to actuate the aperture mechanically and this may sometimes cause an error if the actuator hits the lens…
Back to Top
jaepark View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 March 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote jaepark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 October 2010 at 09:44
Hmm, the sample photos says M42 135mm with A700.
But EXIF says Canon 85mm, probably auto focus...
Funny.

BTW, I have few Chinese made adaptors (set to 135mm) they work fine for A700, but for some reason they intermittently give "Camera error" on A900...
Anyone else have this issue?
Sony + Fujifilm + Olympus
Back to Top
hiepphotog View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 April 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Mexico
Status: Offline
Posts: 459
Post Options Post Options   Quote hiepphotog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 October 2010 at 16:15
Has anyone tried this adapter before?

Funkykoval2001 Adapter

From the ad, you can actually set different focal length, instead of one fixed one, or just four fixed one. The price is cheaper than James Lao's adapter as well (for the 4 FL one). What I'm wondering is the handling of aperture.
Sony A7S, Zeiss ZM Distagon 15mm 2.8, Leica Summicron 28mm 2.0 ASPH, Zeiss ZM Distagon 35mm 1.4, Leica APO Summicron 50mm 2.0 ASPH -- Jobu Algonquin Tripod
Back to Top
whtchocla7e View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 March 2009
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 435
Post Options Post Options   Quote whtchocla7e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 August 2010 at 15:00
I appreciate the above replies, thanks guys.
Back to Top
Dorset Mike View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 February 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Poole, Dorset
Status: Offline
Posts: 535
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dorset Mike Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 August 2010 at 11:50
The main purpose of the chip is to make the camera "see" the lens.

In very basic terms when the camera is switched on the processor initially checks each camera function and also sends a signal to the contacts on the lens, the chip responds saying in effect yes there is a lens fitted and my maximum aperture is xx (xx = an F value programmed into the chip, usually during manufacture)

If the camera sees this then the focus confirm will function, if the adapter has no chip, it can not respond to the camera, hence the focus confirm function is not made available.

Cheers MIKE,



5D, A350: 50/1.7; 28-75/2.8;80-200/2.8 APO Kit; 500/8; Tam 17-50/2.8; 18-280; 70-300/4-5.6: 90/2.8; MC7 2X; Tokina 11-16/2.8: 80-400/4-5.6; Kenko 1.4X:
Min A200 bridge
Back to Top
woodrim View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 October 2009
Country: United States
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 1762
Post Options Post Options   Quote woodrim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2010 at 02:33
Yes. But they do not communicate with the lenses; the focus confirmation is a function of the camera. For whatever reason, the confirm won't work unless the adapter is chipped, even though there is no critical communication. I would think they could have easily made the function work without the need for a chip, but they didn't.

There are three advantages to the chipped adapters: Focus confirm, aperture mode auto exposure (at least is the case with my A200), and the stabilization function if the adapter is programmed with the correct focal length. After using both types of adapters, I've been buying only the non-chipped and shooting in manual. I find the exposures more accurate (seems the auto exposure has difficulty when lens is stopped down). It took a little time to get used to it, but now I prefer.
Regards,

woodrim
Back to Top
whtchocla7e View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 March 2009
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 435
Post Options Post Options   Quote whtchocla7e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2010 at 02:04
Do the focus-confirm adapters work with all m42 lenses?

I don't see anything on the back of my 28mm Vivitar lens that would communicate with the adapter chip. How does this work?

I don't want to spend the money and then find out the focus confirmation doesn't work.
Thanks,
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Other mount lenses Page  123 17>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.