FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

M42 adapter for α-AF with Focus Confirmation

Page  123>
Author
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: M42 adapter for α-AF with Focus Confirmation
    Posted: 14 December 2010 at 14:29
Roger

Welcome to Dyxum.

As this thread is almost two years old you may fare better with a PM to JamesLaoT (the topic originator).

Edited by nigelbrooks - 14 December 2010 at 14:29
I've been away!
 



Back to Top
Roger888 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 December 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger888 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2010 at 14:06
You have given me hope for my Sigma lenses. I understand you may be able to provide chips so they may be used on the new Sony Alpha series DSLR. Can you provide chips for AF zoom lenses? The two I wish to modify are:

Sigma AF 28-70 f: 2.8
Sigma AF 28-200 f/3.8-5.6 Aspherical

I previously used these lenses on a Maxxum 700si camera body.

Thanks,

Roger888
Back to Top
gerrit View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 February 2009
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote gerrit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 March 2009 at 15:30
Today arrived the chip wich i bought. Installation was very simple. I had to resize it a little bit and than it fitted in place of the old contact. I did not have to remove the old chip, there was place inough to let it inside the adapter. With the new chip af works great. I bought a chip with 4 positions. I need some learning how to work with them. My first impression is AF works.

Kind regards
Gerrit
Back to Top
vsldk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 November 2006
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Post Options Post Options   Quote vsldk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 February 2009 at 16:14
Hi Erik
All MD/MC lenses whit aparture 3.5 or better
Picture will be very nice soft
50mm F1.4 and 58mm F1.4 is perfect, but remember
a 50mm become a 50x1.4x1.6 = 112mm (168mm on digital)
Set the MD lens on infinity and use A-priotity.

Happy shotting

Kind regards
vsldk
I believe the true function of age is memory.
I'm recording as fast as I can.
Back to Top
Blunderstein View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 August 2007
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Posts: 317
Post Options Post Options   Quote Blunderstein Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 February 2009 at 14:30
Originally posted by vsldk vsldk wrote:

Try to put a 1,4x converter between the camera and the Sigma 1.6x MD/MA then it will work for you.


That sounds very interesting indeed!
How is the optical quality?
Which lenses/focal lengths work well with this combination?

/Erik
Back to Top
Pete Ganzel View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: Little Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 941
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pete Ganzel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 February 2009 at 00:07
Originally posted by gerrit gerrit wrote:

I own a sigma af 1.6x md-ma multi converter. This converter allows the use of a md lens on a ma mount. It also changes the mf into an af lens. The converter has a lens element which can be moved by the af motor from the camera. Mostly you set the mf lens to infinity and the converter element moves till it is in focus. It works great on my Minolta 5000 but it will not work on newer camera's. My Sony A100 doesn't react if i mount the converter. Could it be possible to rechip it with te md-ma chip and can i aspect that af will work. Has anybody experience with this sigma converter.



Gerrit: I have the Nikon to Minolta AF version of the Sigma. No, as you say, modern digital cameras do not recognize the adapter. I don't see why one of James' chips would not work though to trick the camera into thinking that a standard lens was present.

Pete
 



Back to Top
vsldk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 November 2006
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Post Options Post Options   Quote vsldk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 February 2009 at 00:00
Originally posted by gerrit gerrit wrote:

I own a sigma af 1.6x md-ma multi converter. This converter allows the use of a md lens on a ma mount. It also changes the mf into an af lens. The converter has a lens element which can be moved by the af motor from the camera. Mostly you set the mf lens to infinity and the converter element moves till it is in focus. It works great on my Minolta 5000 but it will not work on newer camera's. My Sony A100 doesn't react if i mount the converter. Could it be possible to rechip it with te md-ma chip and can i aspect that af will work. Has anybody experience with this sigma converter.


Hi Sir !
Try to put a 1,4x converter between the camera and the Sigma 1.6x MD/MA
then it will work for you.
Sigma don't rechip these converters.

Kind regards
vsldk
I believe the true function of age is memory.
I'm recording as fast as I can.
Back to Top
gerrit View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 February 2009
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote gerrit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 February 2009 at 21:05
I own a sigma af 1.6x md-ma multi converter. This converter allows the use of a md lens on a ma mount. It also changes the mf into an af lens. The converter has a lens element which can be moved by the af motor from the camera. Mostly you set the mf lens to infinity and the converter element moves till it is in focus. It works great on my Minolta 5000 but it will not work on newer camera's. My Sony A100 doesn't react if i mount the converter. Could it be possible to rechip it with te md-ma chip and can i aspect that af will work. Has anybody experience with this sigma converter.
Back to Top
Wombat37 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 March 2008
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wombat37 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2008 at 06:18
I've now fitted one of Jim's chips to my Sigma 400mm f/5.6 and, yes, it does work! I now have autofocus, aperture control, auto-exposure, depth of field preview etc. - from a lens that was apparently dead before.
I've written up some instructions for others on how to make this mod but I'm not sure how or where to post them.
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 25059
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 August 2008 at 08:57
I'm having trouble thinking of a reason it wouldn't work... for a zoom you need the chip to be able to read the amount of zoom, but not a problem with a prime... The camera will turn the AF screw until it detects sharp focus or it hits the stops... the camera can stop down the lens so that should work too. All the camera needs to be able to do with the lens is focus it and set the right aperture.

The MD adapter chip might be more suitable than the m42 one - not sure how you would attach it in place.
Back to Top
Wombat37 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 March 2008
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wombat37 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 August 2008 at 03:44
Can anyone tell me if one of Jim's chips can be fitted to an old Sigma 400mm f/5.6 lens to make it work with a Sony a700?

I have one of these and it just won't be recognized by the camera. Sigma has stopped re-chipping these so at the moment it is rather useless to me.

I know Jim's chips are for focus confirmation but how will it handle lens recognition, AF and aperture control? Once the lens is recognized by the camera, will these functions become magically enabled?

Alternatively if anyone wants to offer me huge amounts of money for this lens, I would consider that very seriously

Thanks

Andy



Back to Top
JamesLaoT View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 22 November 2006
Country: China
Location: Beijing
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Post Options Post Options   Quote JamesLaoT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2008 at 06:16
Originally posted by pepesaspa pepesaspa wrote:

Anyone know if it works stabilizer with a goal 1000mm f10 as the MTO 10/1000?

The AS will work well,but they will have no focus confirmation because the aperture too small( < F8.0 ).The AF detector in DSLR body will not work in this case. i think.

Edited by JamesLaoT - 01 May 2008 at 06:17
http://eadpt.com

M42 adapter with Focus Confirmation
Back to Top
pepesaspa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 19 April 2008
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote pepesaspa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 April 2008 at 15:48
Anyone know if it works stabilizer with a goal 1000mm f10 as the MTO 10/1000?
Back to Top
Blunderstein View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 August 2007
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Posts: 317
Post Options Post Options   Quote Blunderstein Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2008 at 10:16
Originally posted by terryg terryg wrote:

I thought seriously about putting a chip onto a Tamron Adaptall-2 to Minolta AF adapter.

In principle I think it should work fine.

The two issues I see are:
1) providing a solid-enough platform for the chip to sit on;
2) placing the chip in the correct position for correct contact with the camera's pins.

In the end I went with using an Adaptall-2 to M42 adapter plus a premade M42 to MinAF adapter with chip.
That combination worked satisfactorily.

Thanks Terry!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Sell / Buy equipment > Want to buy / trade Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.