FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

a300 (Swivel-Screen/Liveview), a350 confirmed

Page  123 17>
Author
beline View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 October 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 614
Post Options Post Options   Quote beline Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: a300 (Swivel-Screen/Liveview), a350 confirmed
    Posted: 30 January 2008 at 22:52
Originally posted by Two_truths Two_truths wrote:

The LCD has resolution of 320x240 dots, so therefore the liveview sensor would need a resolution of 3200x2400 photosites in order for a 10x magnification to be possible.

It is not clear which sensor Sony is going to use for liveview. They may use their 8MP 1/2.5" or 1/1.8" CCD sensor, or else they might have to use their 6.4MP 1/1.8" CMOS sensor.

The 8MP sensor would give a maximum magnification just over 10x, whereas the 6.4MP sensor would only give a maximum magnification of 9x. However, the CMOS is a more advanced sensor.



OMG. Live-View magnification of 10x (~8Mpix sensor) would be hellish... Just think, 8Mpix is OK on APS-C, imagine how it would perform at the size pictured!

 



Back to Top
Two_truths View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Two_truths Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 22:48
Originally posted by lozw lozw wrote:

Originally posted by lozw lozw wrote:

That big LV/OVF button on the top plate looks such a big solid switch, it made me wonder if it is actually mechanical - i.e. it physically moves the mirror - as opposed to being a software switch(and the mirror being motorised in some way)


I was right then.


Please can you show us where your theory has been verified? From the images I have seen so far, it looks to be an electronic switch.
--
Stuart / the Two Truths
The Modern Hippie of Dyxum
twotruths.net
a700 | 1.8/20 | 1.4/50 | 2.8/90 | 1.8/135
Back to Top
Two_truths View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 907
Post Options Post Options   Quote Two_truths Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 22:46
The LCD has resolution of 320x240 dots, so therefore the liveview sensor would need a resolution of 3200x2400 photosites in order for a 10x magnification to be possible.

It is not clear which sensor Sony is going to use for liveview. They may use their 8MP 1/2.5" or 1/1.8" CCD sensor, or else they might have to use their 6.4MP 1/1.8" CMOS sensor.

The 8MP sensor would give a maximum magnification just over 10x, whereas the 6.4MP sensor would only give a maximum magnification of 9x. However, the CMOS is a more advanced sensor.

--
Stuart / the Two Truths
The Modern Hippie of Dyxum
twotruths.net
a700 | 1.8/20 | 1.4/50 | 2.8/90 | 1.8/135
Back to Top
lozw View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 31 May 2007
Status: Offline
Posts: 148
Post Options Post Options   Quote lozw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 21:58
Originally posted by lozw lozw wrote:

That big LV/OVF button on the top plate looks such a big solid switch, it made me wonder if it is actually mechanical - i.e. it physically moves the mirror - as opposed to being a software switch(and the mirror being motorised in some way)


I was right then.
Back to Top
deyo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 16 December 2007
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote deyo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 19:00
Originally posted by stingray stingray wrote:

Yep !!
and I even do not know if it is possible for the 10 and 14Mpx CCD to be used as live-view sensors.

Who says this? And who says, that the 14Mp will be CCD? I think it will be CMOS
We'll see after few days.
Back to Top
PMac View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 April 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 2142
Post Options Post Options   Quote PMac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 18:00
The gap between the announcement of the A700 sensor and the A700 was in the order of six months. I guess we will see a similar lag for the Monster chip and A900.

For me this is goos news - I've been holding off the A700 waiting to see what the A900 would look like, by delaying, Sony has made my choice for me.
We are all going to die but at least we can go down swinging
 



Back to Top
stingray View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 November 2007
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote stingray Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:34
English is not my native language but :

Sony will target for mass production of this CMOS image sensor within this year.

does not mean "not till the year is out"
Back to Top
beline View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 October 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 614
Post Options Post Options   Quote beline Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:25
33mm sensor not till ethe year is out

CONFIRMS - No a900 at PMA.
Back to Top
stingray View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 November 2007
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote stingray Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:20
Yep !!
and I even do not know if it is possible for the 10 and 14Mpx CCD to be used as live-view sensors.
There is the heating problem and the need of an electronic shutter (maybe the last exist on those sensors)
Back to Top
mikef View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 25 August 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 149
Post Options Post Options   Quote mikef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:15
except that doesn't seem to be the way the Sony 300/350 work - liveview only from the second sensor.
Back to Top
deyo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 16 December 2007
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote deyo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:02
Originally posted by mikef mikef wrote:


Originally posted by Falcon75 Falcon75 wrote:


The second sensor only needs to have the resolution to show a average image on the LCD screen resolution of the equipment.
not if you want to be able to significantly magnify the image for critical focussing


mikef, think about - do you realy need the second sensor to be with greater resolution than the display? When you need to focus manualy, you DON'T NEED the additional sensor - the mirror can just be lifted up, so you can use the main sensor to zoom the picture.
The second sensor is used only when you need to use the AF points. When you don't need them, and want to use manual focus and live view, the mirror can be lifted up, similar to Canon's live view implementation! Remember - when you use live view in Canon, the mirror is lifted up, and when you want to Auto Focus, the mirror drops for a moment, and focuses. So the second sensor can be with exactly the same resolution, as the display
Back to Top
mikef View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 25 August 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 149
Post Options Post Options   Quote mikef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 15:02
sorry editted out too much of my post above ...

It isn't necessary to go back to mirror up to focus. See the D300 specs (contrast detection).
Back to Top
stingray View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 November 2007
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote stingray Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 14:56
But with this system you are loosing two mains advantages of live-view :
- 100% frame coverage
- silent shoots (no mirror noise)
Back to Top
mdaniel View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2007
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 197
Post Options Post Options   Quote mdaniel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2008 at 14:51
Raven Falls:

You are SO right. I agree with you 100%.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  123 17>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.