FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Flagship spotted in the field in Canada!!!!

Page  123 7>
Author
Tritone View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote Tritone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Flagship spotted in the field in Canada!!!!
    Posted: 30 June 2008 at 07:12
I was out with family in Victoria, BC at Hatley Castle/Royal Roads University when I happened upon Japanese group wandering the grounds. Not thinking much of it I thought it was a tour group until I saw a gent with an orange Sony camera strap and something which was quite different from my A700.

I was extremely excited and took this picture.

I must apologize as I hadn't paid attention to my camera settings and fired off this photo at 100ASA 85mm (28-85 minolta lens) at f9. Even though it was a sunny day, we were in open shade and I screwed up. The man heard my camera and started yelling at me in Japanese.

I guess that's why I'm still an amateur photographer. A golden opportunity missed

This was shot in JPG at Medium setting xfine (my standard mode) as I had just finished shooting some practise shots. I'm still quite uncomfortable with the dSLR being more in love with manual film bodies. As a result my smug gallery is still empty as I grapple with all the range of tweaks available.

If you wish to see the original jpg I can email it to you so you can pixel peep all you want. The 3 features that made this camera jump out me was the size of the optical viewfinder, the thumb rest, and the side ports.

Wish I had nailed it.
Now is A700 - Thanks Dyxum!

MichelvA View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Post Options Post Options   Quote MichelvA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 June 2008 at 07:18
Well done. Strange the man yelled at you. Too bad you couldn't start a nice conversation as photographers...
Is this model out in Japan yet or is it a early production prototype..?