FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Power adapter

Author
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Power adapter
    Posted: 07 April 2009 at 01:06
Is there any way to get the male plug that fits the DC input on the A-200? I have a couple of Digipower DPS 9000 packs that I use on my other cameras, the voltage is in range for the A-200, but I need to make a connector.
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
 



Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 02:00
Originally posted by bobh bobh wrote:

Is there any way to get the male plug that fits the DC input on the A-200?

Unfortunately not. This is a Sony proprietary 3-wire plug.

I have a couple of Digipower DPS 9000 packs that I use on my other cameras, the voltage is in range for the A-200, but I need to make a connector.

I don't know these Digipower packs, but even if you could source that proprietary plug, be double cautious about just connecting an external power supply to the camera. You may easily damage the camera or the battery. There's more to this jack than a simple 2-wire power supply:

http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/forum_posts.asp?TID=41688&PID=448783#448783 ff.
http://www.mi-fo.de/forum/index.php?showtopic=22853&view=findpost&p=240101 ff. [de]

Hope it helps,

Matthias
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 02:22
Thanks, the Digipower packs are great, 7.2V, 2200mAh, with a tripod mount screw in the center. I use them on my Panasonic FZ30, my Olympus C2100UZ and my Olympus C2500L. I work from a blind, while waiting for birds to appear I leave the camera on, and OEM batteries run out fast. The Digipower provides much more power than a battery grip.
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 11:43
I see, thanks for the explanation. Nominal 7.2V seems to be okay, if the actual voltage isn't significantly higher, when fully charged. You can provide external DC power to the camera's DC jack, if you pull down CONTROL to GND in the plug (that is, short pin 2 and 3). It is very important to not leave pin 2 open in this application, as otherwise the camera or an internal battery may get damaged!

Pin 1: DCPOWER+
Pin 2: SENSE/CONTROL
Pin 3: GND

I think, the easiest way to source a compatible plug is to get a Sony AC-VQ900AM dual charger (expensive!) and cut off the DC cable. The molded plug of this cable has pins 2 and 3 shorted already. Alternatively (but not much cheaper), you could try to find a Sony "DSLR CABLE W-CONNECTOR" (right now, I'm not sure, which one is correct: J6082638A or J6082624A - will have to look this up in my notes). This cable is identical to the AC-VQ900AM DC cable, but features two (useless) banana plugs on the other end.

Don't forget to insert a fuse (ca. 2.5-3A slow blow) into the DCPOWER+ wire before connecting it to your Digipower pack's plus pole. The external power pack's minus pole must be connected to pin 3 (GND) (and pin 2). Be sure not to reverse polarity!

The external power pack should contain a deep discharge protection circuit with a cut-off voltage of not less than 6.0V. It is important to not deep discharge lithium-ion cells, as they may get permanently damaged internally and explode when trying to recharge them afterwards.

A feature such as "automatic power source switchover on power fail" is impossible to achieve using either of these cables (at least not in general). To tell the truth, it /is/ possible with the DSLR-A100, if you would leave open pin 2, however, using the same cable on the DSLR-A700 would damage the camera, as their internal circuitry differs significantly. (I don't know, which type of circuitry is used in the DSLR-A200.) In order to play it safe, one would have to use a 3-wire plug and add some external circuitry, so that an "auto-switchover" feature could be made work with all Sony Alpha DSLRs. However, since no compatible 3-wire plug (not connecting pin 2 and 3) seems to be available on the market right now, this remains wishful thinking for now...

Hope it helps,

Matthias

Edited by matthiaspaul - 08 April 2009 at 01:40
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 12:52
Thanks, I've confirmed the voltage, no problem there. I like the camera, but Sony's accessory prices are a bit too much for an old retired codger, some are absolutely unbelievable!
My cameras are the hub of my life, I don't like television and hate staring at the wall. I've got to keep my cameras going!
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 13:34
The J-6082-638-A connector is available for order, I think the project is possible. I'll keep track of it and report on the results.
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
 



Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8526
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 14:00
I looked at this given the ludicrous price of the Sony AC adaptor in the UK.

Sony in Japan do make the connector and fly-lead available as a spare part but at $82 for a plug and 1m cable, I'll pass

Edited by nigelbrooks - 07 April 2009 at 14:00
I've been away!
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 14:16
It would depend on shipping cost to where you are. I found them here:
http://www.nexttronics.com/catalog/sony/J/J6082638A.htm
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 14:28
Let's hope, someone in China will see an opportunity here to provide a second source to these plugs... It may happen sooner or later.

However, I'm a bit afraid of how many cameras may get fried because people will try to simply connect their external power supply to the camera without being aware of the various implications of Sony's varying implementations in their Alpha DSLRs. Unfortunately, there are subtle but important to know differences between them, and what may work on one model, would damage another model.
In order to help third-party implementors and do-it-yourself experimentors to create solutions that will work on all Sony Alpha DSLRs past, current and in the foreseeable future, I tried to write some kind of a "black box specification" of that interface (in the German article mentioned above), and even show up possible ways, how Sony may intend to extend this 3-wire interface in the future...

Greetings,

Matthias
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2009 at 14:36
I've suggested it to a seller in China who I've done some business with. If they see any profit in something they will produce it.
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2009 at 01:46
Originally posted by bobh bobh wrote:

It would depend on shipping cost to where you are. I found them here:
http://www.nexttronics.com/catalog/sony/J/J6082638A.htm

I hope, I didn't mixed anything up here, as this part is called "CONNECTION CORD (JIG)". However, they also list a "DSLR CABLE W-CONNECTOR" under the part number J6082624A - and with a different price tag... I will have to look this up in my notes, which one is the correct one.

Greetings,

Matthias
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
bobh View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 April 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 45
Post Options Post Options   Quote bobh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2009 at 05:51
I'm not rushing into this, I'll do some planning. Too bad there are no pictures in the parts catalogs.
Bob

http://www.pbase.com/tsiya/root
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.