FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Loose rubber grip

Author
teddybear View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 October 2009
Country: South Africa
Location: Johannesburg
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote teddybear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Loose rubber grip
    Posted: 12 February 2010 at 16:14
Hi guys,

The rubber grip on my beloved A100 is getting very loose!Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Rich
Konica Minolta 7D (with VG), A58, tamron 35-105mm f2.8, SAL70300G, SAL1855 II, Tamron 20-40mm F2.7-3.5, Minolta 35-70mm F4, Tamron 200-400mm F5.6 5600HS (D)
 



Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 18:59
If it's the thumb grip you mean, peel it off and refix with Scotch 665 double-sided tape, it's what the service centres use
I've been away!
Back to Top
teddybear View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 October 2009
Country: South Africa
Location: Johannesburg
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote teddybear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 19:03
Thanks a lot. I'll do it a.s.a.p.

I was beginning to worry that I would lose it

Anyway thanks for your help.
Konica Minolta 7D (with VG), A58, tamron 35-105mm f2.8, SAL70300G, SAL1855 II, Tamron 20-40mm F2.7-3.5, Minolta 35-70mm F4, Tamron 200-400mm F5.6 5600HS (D)
Back to Top
zekewhipper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 March 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 338
Post Options Post Options   Quote zekewhipper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 19:29
Nigel: From where do you get the tape you mention? Also, is that the same stuff they use to affix the disk tops of the control dials on the 7 and 7D?
Main cameras: Pentax K-5 Mk.I, Sony A77 Mk.I, Olympus OM-D E-M1

SLR's: Minolta Maxxum 600si

P&S's: Nikon P7100
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 20:42
Originally posted by zekewhipper zekewhipper wrote:

Nigel: From where do you get the tape you mention? Also, is that the same stuff they use to affix the disk tops of the control dials on the 7 and 7D?


Any good hardware or office supplies store should stock Scotch #665. I had to import some from the US as the UK distributors don't stock it. It's around $6 for a 36yd roll.

Don't know about the disk tops but 665 is a good durable and (importantly) thin tape.
I've been away!
Back to Top
zekewhipper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 March 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 338
Post Options Post Options   Quote zekewhipper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 February 2010 at 06:14
Thanks for the info..
Main cameras: Pentax K-5 Mk.I, Sony A77 Mk.I, Olympus OM-D E-M1

SLR's: Minolta Maxxum 600si

P&S's: Nikon P7100
 



Back to Top
Fuzzphoto View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2546
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fuzzphoto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 February 2010 at 12:10
I would use a neoprene contact glue, like Bison Kit or Bison Tix.
Joris' Fuzzphoto gallery | A77II, A700+VG, NEX-5, other gear
Back to Top
Nisse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 March 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Posts: 23
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nisse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2010 at 18:19
What about when the 7D's "handgrip" comes lose?? Originaly "glewed" with some kind of "cyanoacryl". Has anyone had this problem and fixed it?

               Gareth
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2010 at 18:42
Welcome to Dyxum!

No reason why Scotch 665 wouldn't work just as well on the grip.
I've been away!
Back to Top
Nisse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 March 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Posts: 23
Post Options Post Options   Quote Nisse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2010 at 19:03
Thanx:) Iv'e tried this but the rubber is somewhat greasy.....even if I clean it, so the tape won't hold:( Any other ideas anyone??

               Gareth
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: England
Location: Ealing, London
Status: Offline
Posts: 8523
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2010 at 10:04
Hmmm.

Bison or Elephant glue, both are contact neoprene adhesives.
I've been away!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.