FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to run old Minolta scanners on Vista & 7

Page  123 16>
Author
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to run old Minolta scanners on Vista & 7
    Posted: 25 March 2021 at 22:45
Hi everyone,
So after months of trying I found the software! Tracked down a person in Armenia who had the software. I am adding a link here so that it can be found by anyone else with a similar problem. Just needs to run on Windows XP and its plug and play. I ask that you please make a copy of this program for yourselves so it is easily available, I do not want anyone else being stuck with a giant paperweight for 6 months!


Konica ImageFit 3 Software for RX-3
 



Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2020 at 18:09
https://ibb.co/zmTp6MF

Am I being stupid, where the heck do I go to find the ImageFit software. It is no where on the internet at all!
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2020 at 09:23
Also I have an old ME machine which I could use for this scanner.
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2020 at 09:20
So I have contacted a few people. The sony drivers will not work - coming from someone who had the sony machine he says that they are firmware locked. THe drivers you provided are for the RX-1. I have found some drivers for the RX-2 which I am guessing may work, I specifically need the ImageFit software as this is what makes the scanner work apparently. I emailed VueScan's support and he said he "has never heard of it in 18 years and supporting it will not make enough money for him." So my only option I think is the Konica Software.
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2020 at 08:32
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Also, as you say this went under the Sony name as well, does that mean that I could theoretically install the Sony drivers and software and use it? These are easy to get hold of.


Cheers

Reiss

Only if you find recent drivers. The ones in the link I provided earlier are from 2002 and, as far as I can tell, those were old 16 bit drivers for XP, and will not work in newer Windows versions. There is also a TWAIN driver, but that too probably won't work in Windows 10 without some tweaks https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/twain-drivers/f45625ae-896b-431c-966e-574d27b9f9cf

I still think that your best bet is Vuescan's built-in scanner support

Also keep in mind that the scanner uses a halogen lamp as a light source, and almost surely the old lamp will not reproduce correct colors. And a quality replacement seems to cost many times the scanner price you paid. One of the reasons I chose the Dimage Elite 5400II is because it uses a LED as light source, much more durable than CFL or halogen lamps
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 November 2020 at 07:37
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Does anyone have any link to ImageFit. Its the only program I need and I cannot find it anywhere on the internet.

Also, as you say this went under the Sony name as well, does that mean that I could theoretically install the Sony drivers and software and use it? These are easy to get hold of.


Cheers

Reiss
 



Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 21:26
Does anyone have any link to ImageFit. Its the only program I need and I cannot find it anywhere on the internet.
Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2830
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 20:26
Hi Robca,

Thanks. This is a very old thread and topic and as I recall the INF file we used way back when was posted by our friend and Dyxum member, Vitor! I used that successfully in my old Installation of Windows 8 or 10 a few years ago with the Dimagescan Utility but Silverfast would hang and crash. In the mean time I have a new drive and install of Win 10. Yes, I like the Dimagescan Utility, it is good software. But I personally prefer Silverfast and have been using the AI Studio version for quite a while and have a workflow that I like. This is even though I feel somewhat betrayed by Silverfast. When I purchased it years ago they promised 64 bit drivers for Wind 7, 8 and 10, and thus a free upgrade to SF version 8. Never happened. Of course I realize, there probably is not much profit these days in scanner software and scanning film in general. I still have mountains of slides and negatives to scan, and probably will continue to shoot some film in the future.

Regards,

Kelly
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 20:05
Originally posted by AudioDoc AudioDoc wrote:

A little off topic, but perhaps of interest to some, I've been able to run my Minolta 5400 II on Windows 10 64 bit using Silverfast Ver. 6 by first installing the trial version of Viewscan. Previously I had been dual booting to Win XP to run my scanner with Silverfast.

Regards,

Kelly

That is because Vuescan has its own INF file (very similar to the one linked here), and once you install Vuescan, Windows has the generic USB scanner driver for the 5400 II. You would have achieved the same if you had used the modified Minolta.INF file in this thread

Incidentally, the original Minolta software for the 5400II works just fine in Windows 10, once you have the driver. In my tests (using slides), the original minolta software actually worked much better than Vuescan. I think I tried also a trial version of Silverfast, but the original Minolta software was still better for my needs
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 20:01
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:


Ahhh amazing thank you. Do you have any Konica software that you could link me to please?

I do, but it works only with the Dimage Scan Elite 5400II. It's here https://www.konicaminoltasupport.com/index.php?id=3304&L=2%27

But it will not help you at all, unfortunately

There seems to be something for the RX-1 here https://www.konicaminoltasupport.com/index.php?id=4384&L=356

But if you are already using Vuescan and happy with it, there is no need (probably) for the Minolta software

Also, your scanner is known as Sony UY-S100, so you might have more luck using that search term https://www.softwaredriverdownload.com/sony_uy-s90_driver.html
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 19:56
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:

Okay, so I bought it, however I have to wait until next week to get hold of it. I have VueScan yes and I know it works with the Nikon, so I will reply next week after I plug it into scsi to see how it goes. Also I found this INF file with the RX-3 in it already. Will this work>?


I started looking further into how old SCSI scanners work and I think I might have been wrong before when I said that there was no standard way to define scanners for SCSI in Windows. It looks as if scsiscan.sys can perform a similar function to the equivalent USB set of functions. I'm not running Windows 10 on this PC, but if you see a scsiscan.sys somewhere in your Windows directory, it might work

So, assuming that there were no special aspects of the RX-3 that needed a driver, that inf file might work even for the RX-3. In any case, Vuescan installs its own version of a generic INF file, and at least when I tried for my Dimage Scan Elite 5400II, the Vuescan INF conflicted with the INF you just listed. So, unless you also have an original Minolta program, using the linked INF file won't help

For my Dimage scanner (USB), actually the original Minolta scanning software worked much better than Vuescan on Windows 10, especially for ICE with slides. The Vuescan images were lifeless and lower quality overall than the original Minolta software.
Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2830
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 19:40
A little off topic, but perhaps of interest to some, I've been able to run my Minolta 5400 II on Windows 10 64 bit using Silverfast Ver. 6 by first installing the trial version of Viewscan. Previously I had been dual booting to Win XP to run my scanner with Silverfast.

Regards,

Kelly
Back to Top
rjerham View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 17 November 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote rjerham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 19:20
Originally posted by robca robca wrote:

Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:


Ahhh so I just plug it in and if windows recognises it then VueScan should work?

Well, it might.

My reasoning is that you already have a working Vuescan with a working SCSI card and SCSI drivers, and a working Nikon scanner. That means that Vuescan can communicate with the Nikon over SCSI.

Since Vuescan uses its own version of drivers and since it supports a lot of scanners, it's possible that if a RX-3 is on the SCSI bus, Vuescan will manage to talk to it

Please make sure you understand how a SCSI bus works and how it should be properly terminated for multiple devices before connecting a new scanner. In theory you should be able to use both scanners at the same time on a single SCSI bus, but I would recommend to connect only one or the other (in that case both terminated). Fewer chanvces of problems that way https://storage.microsemi.com/en-us/support/scsi/3940/aha-3940uwd/hw_install/scsi_termination.htm


Ahhh amazing thank you. Do you have any Konica software that you could link me to please?
Back to Top
robca View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2019
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote robca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 November 2020 at 19:17
Originally posted by rjerham rjerham wrote:


Ahhh so I just plug it in and if windows recognises it then VueScan should work?

Well, it might.

My reasoning is that you already have a working Vuescan with a working SCSI card and SCSI drivers, and a working Nikon scanner. That means that Vuescan can communicate with the Nikon over SCSI.

Since Vuescan uses its own version of drivers and since it supports a lot of scanners, it's possible that if a RX-3 is on the SCSI bus, Vuescan will manage to talk to it

Please make sure you understand how a SCSI bus works and how it should be properly terminated for multiple devices before connecting a new scanner. In theory you should be able to use both scanners at the same time on a single SCSI bus, but I would recommend to connect only one or the other (in that case both terminated). Fewer chanvces of problems that way https://storage.microsemi.com/en-us/support/scsi/3940/aha-3940uwd/hw_install/scsi_termination.htm
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  123 16>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.