FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

TP: Cleaning the sensor in your camera

Page  <1 234
Author
dagrahph View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 June 2009
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Swansea
Status: Offline
Posts: 195
Post Options Post Options   Quote dagrahph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 July 2010 at 20:34
Originally posted by keith_h keith_h wrote:

Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

I think I've read somewhere that people also used a lenspen, but can't find the reference anymore. Anybody here has any experience with that ?


I used the round ended lenspen but it does not get into the corners. Other than corners it worked just fine.

There is a square one intended for camera sensors6


keith_h,this is the product you mean?

Very effective and reaches right into the corners of sensor.

Cheers
Blues is a Healer-John Lee Hooker.

If it wasn`t for bad luck I wouldn`t have no luck at all-Albert King

Cheers Dave A350,Dynax40,50/1.7,50mm 2.8 macro,18-70,28-100,35-70 70-210,Olympus XA,Ricoh CX1
 



Back to Top
Gavin_A100 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 January 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Status: Offline
Posts: 226
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gavin_A100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 October 2010 at 21:31
Sorry to Drag this up but let me get this correct..

For my a900 I require E or E2 and #3 swabs for a wet clean as my blower will not shift the dirt??
a900, VG-C90AM, Min 50 f1.7, CZ 24-70 f2.8, Sig 100-300 f4, HVLF56AM
Back to Top
MichelvA View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 26 April 2008
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 17319
Post Options Post Options   Quote MichelvA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 October 2010 at 21:41
I'm not sure what you mean by E or E2 but i use swabs that are meant for APS-C sensors. Maybe not an optimum result but i can clean the 5D, A550 and A900 with one set.

edit: Guess you mean this page:http://www.photosol.com/cameras_bymfg.html
They recommend swap 3 which will be (2.25 times..) bigger than 1 and 2.

Edited by MichelvA - 04 October 2010 at 21:47
Back to Top
Gavin_A100 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 January 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Status: Offline
Posts: 226
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gavin_A100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 October 2010 at 21:47
Sorry Eclipse or Eclipse E2, #3 swabs are the correct size for FF according to photographic solutions??
a900, VG-C90AM, Min 50 f1.7, CZ 24-70 f2.8, Sig 100-300 f4, HVLF56AM
Back to Top
MichelvA View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 26 April 2008
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 17319
Post Options Post Options   Quote MichelvA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 October 2010 at 06:06
Yes, if you only use a FF camera, the #3 swaps are the ones you can use.
But don't worry if you use smaller ones, you have to wipe twice then. Think you could see stripes under some circumstances, but i never had that problem.
Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5757
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 March 2011 at 18:26
Method.

1. Put on a 50mm prime. I assume you have one, if not, use another prime (works best I find - or at least as short zoom at maximum length, say 55-70mm). Ensure your camera battery is fully charged.

2. I generally use (A) mode on the camera. Adjust lens aperture to highest setting (say f/32, f/22 or whatever).

3. Using either on-board or external flash, focus on a clean white/bright background and take some frames. The narrow lens aperture will bring out the specks much better and make them more distinct and you can more-or-less determine if the contamination is moisture, hair/fibres and/or sticky dust specks. If necessary, do this in (M) manual mode.

4. You need a loupe (illuminated magnifier) irrespective of cleaning method, else you can't check to see where the specks are or to check the sensor post cleaning.

5. Clean using either or both methods as outlined below, but re-check the sensor with the loupe (even with a wet clean, it's a good idea to tidy up the edges of the sensor with the Sensorklear II pens even after wet cleaning. Check all is OK and turn off camera.

6. Re-fit lens, and again take several frames as suggested above. If all has worked, you ought to have a perfectly clear image.

YouTube Lenspen Sensor Cleaning System: English

Lenspen Sensorklear II kit (SKLK1). Dry method.

Wet method with clinically clean swabs and E2 fluid can be used in conjunction with above from their eBay shop DigiPads. I would recommend after wet cleaning, you should inspect the sensor with a loupe and if required, follow-up with a dry clean using a Sensorklear II pen to tidy any remaining micro fibres and remaining stubborn spots that the wet swab wasn't able to remove and re-inspect with the loupe.

The loupe is invaluable as without it you can't see what's clean or dirty. Personally, the blower is a no-no with the shutter in the open position. Where the cr@p goes . . nobody knows . . maybe onto the underside of the mirror flap or onto your viewfinder. I would never use a blower. My personal choice.

I would recommend the Lenspen Sensorklear II (SKLK1) + loupe as your first option. It really is easy to do and will save you a lot of money over time as a do-it-yourself (DIY) maintenance procedure.



FWIW, contamination can easily be identified by using the smallest aperture and taking a few shots against a clean white background. I will do it for you for free if you cover postage. Really, there's nothing to be concerned about. The sensor is covered by several protective layers. You don't actually clean the sensor itself.

Edited by Pirate - 21 March 2011 at 18:30
 



Back to Top
Johnontheroad View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 18 June 2011
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 82
Post Options Post Options   Quote Johnontheroad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 June 2011 at 19:23
In the Gary Freidman ebook on the a900 he states never to use a blower on the sensor, yet many people here suggest that. So why not use a blower? Is it because you don't where the dust, if any, ends up?

== John
Sony user since 1998 - D700, D770, H1, R1, a900, a55 now a77, SAL 35f18, SAL 18250, Tamron 90mm f 2.8 Macro, Tamron SP 70-300mm
Back to Top
luckyduckie View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 May 2008
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 472
Post Options Post Options   Quote luckyduckie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 June 2011 at 20:02
Originally posted by Johnontheroad Johnontheroad wrote:

In the Gary Freidman ebook on the a900 he states never to use a blower on the sensor, yet many people here suggest that. So why not use a blower? Is it because you don't where the dust, if any, ends up?

== John


I went to one of Gary's seminars and he said that the dust could stay inside the camera and get on the sensor again or get into something else, so he recommends using the specified cleaning products instead.

But, I still used the blower method (holding the camera upside down to help any dust drop down after it's dislodged). I'm comfortable with the risks involved, but everyone is different.
Back to Top
keithf View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 February 2011
Location: Surbiton, UK
Status: Offline
Posts: 215
Post Options Post Options   Quote keithf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 July 2011 at 22:35
Just bought a Sensorklear SLK1 kit from Jessops, as i had a voucher to use up. Bought it on Weds as I was going on a shoot yesterday and I knew there was a hair stuck on the sensor goodness knows how it got there.
Although nervous at first using the SLK1 really was a doddle....
Insert the supplied batteries into the Loupe, put the camera into cleaning mode, remove lens, use supplied blower to dislodge "stuff" as luckyduckie said hold camera upside down whilst doing this, then position the Loupe over the lens mount turn on the leds and using the access window, use the supplied "pen" to carefully wipe the sensor clean and easie peasy lemon squeezie job done.
My only criticism of the kit is you only get the 1 pen with one head and I think it would be a good idea to have interchangeable heads (like a razor) as there is no real way to clean the head of the pen itself if anyone knows how to clean these let me know.
However apart from that the SLK1 kit is superb and I would recommend the above is a niggle the product itself is superb after all according to the box it is approved by NASA for use on the ISS....
"Everything in moderation including moderation"
http://www.flickr.com/photos/keithfransella/
Back to Top
Austrokiwi View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 October 2013
Country: Austria
Location: Vienna
Status: Offline
Posts: 144
Post Options Post Options   Quote Austrokiwi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 October 2013 at 10:45
Warning re Minolta 500mm reflex and dirt on the sensor. A couple of months ago I had a real problem with dirt on the top right corner of the sensor(A65). Using a rocket blower failed to dislodge it, I ended up taking it to the local camera shop who sent it off to Sony it came back perfect.   I went through my photos to see when the dirt might have entered the camera and then I realized the culprit may have been my 500mm reflex lens. The dirt had appeared after I had used the lens in the local national park, The day had been very bright and I had to swap to the ND$ filter. This of course opened the rear of the lens to the elements and it seem that it was at this time the dirt got in. A more professional photographer advised me that when I change lenses or filters in the field to do it inside a plastic bag to prevent a repeat. Good advice and probably most useful for the Minolta 500mm
Always Learning
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.