FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

TP: Film Scanners

Page  <1 3456>
Author
TallPaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 March 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2824
Post Options Post Options   Quote TallPaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2007 at 17:02
Originally posted by analytical analytical wrote:

I wonder if someone more experienced with scanners and variation in how specifications are stated could comment on one specific example of a lower cost scanner.


I just bought a CanoScan 8600 which I think is in this price range, and am very happy with it so far, the film holders are quite easy to use, although I have not really had a really really good play with negative scanning as yet.
A900, 16-35/2.8Z, 70-200/2.8G, 85/1.4Z, 28-75/2.8, 50/1.7. Nex 6, 16-50mm & Rokkor MC/MD lenses.
 



Back to Top
catlady View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 March 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote catlady Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2007 at 13:06
I've got a Canoscan 9900F, which I want to upgrade from.

I was considering the Microtek i900, which comes in the same sort of price as the V750. But it looks like the V700 may be good enough for me...I want to save lots of old colour slides and b&w, plus some colour neg film; and I have a project to shoot b&w film again so need to be able to get that into the Mac.

Does anyone have any experience of the i900 to compare with the Epsons?

Thanks.
focussed on infinity.....pity about the near vision
Back to Top
analytical View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 3069
Post Options Post Options   Quote analytical Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2007 at 21:59
Originally posted by MostlyHarmless MostlyHarmless wrote:

analytical, what kind of film are you scanning, how much of it do you plan to scan and how often?



Sorry for the delay in answering. 35mm color negatives mostly. Both selected old ones and a few new, but low volume. I also have some old ektachrome slides I may want to do a few of.

   
12mi SW of Glen Rose,TX
photos
equipment
Back to Top
MostlyHarmless View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 February 2007
Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote MostlyHarmless Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2007 at 19:13
The Plustek models are probably fine for you. I'd highly recommend investing in Vuescan to get features like multisampling and multiexposure. I'd also recommend springing for the 7200i model because dust management can be an enormous pain.

Just remember that the specs don't really mean a whole lot - you're not actually going to get 7200dpi worth of resolution and from what I've seen, you need to do a lot of tweaking to get the colors right.
M5D+M5: 20/2.8(O)|28/2(O)|85/1.4(Pre-G)|100/2.8MacD|100-300/4.5-5.6D
CLE: R-M 40/2
X570: R-X 45/2
3600HS+Sunpak383
flickr
Back to Top
catlady View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 March 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote catlady Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2007 at 22:25
I've now borrowed a Scan Dual III from a friend. It scans B&W fine, also 8-bit colour. But when I tried 16-bit colour the scan came out very dark and with a severe colour shift towards the purple. I'm using a Mac.

The little handbook isn't very helpful!

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.

focussed on infinity.....pity about the near vision
Back to Top
colmo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 August 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 152
Post Options Post Options   Quote colmo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2007 at 23:53
Originally posted by catlady catlady wrote:

I've now borrowed a Scan Dual III from a friend. It scans B&W fine, also 8-bit colour. But when I tried 16-bit colour the scan came out very dark and with a severe colour shift towards the purple. I'm using a Mac.

The little handbook isn't very helpful!

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.



I'll bet you scanned it in 16-bit linear mode - it has no tone curve/gamma applied to it, instead leaving that up to you in PP (using Levels or colour profile, see below). You could try the other 16-bit mode.

For the colour shift, use the supplied scanner profiles; I know KM includes one for 16-bit linear scans. After opening the scan in Photoshop (if you have it), it'll ask you what colour space you want to use - you choose 'assign to' and select the 16-bit (posi) linear profile from the drop down, and 'convert to the working RGB'. I'm afraid I don't remember how the profiles are installed, can anyone else help?

Edited by colmo - 18 May 2007 at 00:00
Dynax 7 & A100|Monopod & 2xCF pods + pan & FLM 38 heads|5400HS|Minolta 24-105/3.5-4.5, 70-210/4, 50/1.7|Sigma 90/2.8, 400/5.6 Tele Macro|Sony 18-70/4.5-5.6|Sunpak 455|X700+50mm f1.4 and other MF stuff
 



Back to Top
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2007 at 01:09
I have an Elite 5400II and I want to get the most out of 16bit raw scanning. So whats all this talk about KM supplied profiles? I'm using vuescan and I guess it doesn't come with or apply any profiles for raw scanning but I could tell it to. Should I use the KM supplied 16bit linear profile or should I make my own using a 24x36 color chart slide/neg? Do scanners suffer from color shifting with age?
Back to Top
catlady View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 March 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote catlady Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2007 at 09:07
Originally posted by colmo colmo wrote:


For the colour shift, use the supplied scanner profiles; I know KM includes one for 16-bit linear scans. After opening the scan in Photoshop (if you have it), it'll ask you what colour space you want to use - you choose 'assign to' and select the 16-bit (posi) linear profile from the drop down, and 'convert to the working RGB'. I'm afraid I don't remember how the profiles are installed, can anyone else help?


Thanks Colmo, makes sense. Unfortunatey I don't seem to have profiles with the software lent to me! I'll have to see if I can find them on the Web somewhere.

Correction....I've found them! Automatically installed with the software, just not to where I expected them to be.

Edited by catlady - 18 May 2007 at 09:19
focussed on infinity.....pity about the near vision
Back to Top
colmo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 August 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 152
Post Options Post Options   Quote colmo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2007 at 09:30
You might find **Broken link (Sep 15 2013):this useful.



I'm pretty sure the profiles are bundled into the drivers somewhere. They carry the file extension *.icc or *.icm, and a quick hunt around my PC has revealed files in both \Windows\system32\color (for my old Dual II) and \Windows\system32\spool\drivers\color (for my Elite 5400) - I believe Photoshop looks in the latter for profiles automagically.

Edited by rovhazman - 16 September 2013 at 01:48
Dynax 7 & A100|Monopod & 2xCF pods + pan & FLM 38 heads|5400HS|Minolta 24-105/3.5-4.5, 70-210/4, 50/1.7|Sigma 90/2.8, 400/5.6 Tele Macro|Sony 18-70/4.5-5.6|Sunpak 455|X700+50mm f1.4 and other MF stuff
Back to Top
catlady View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 March 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 306
Post Options Post Options   Quote catlady Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2007 at 09:18
Thanks Colmo for the link, the updated driver has made all the difference, the scanner now works a treat!

Pat
focussed on infinity.....pity about the near vision
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 27060
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2007 at 22:12
Has anyone got experience of an Epson V350? It is supposed to have a film scanning slot in the lid and is a step up from the V100 - at under L90 (I think I've seen it that low) it looks reasonable value...

Bob
Back to Top
devonman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 March 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote devonman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 March 2020 at 20:06
re Minolta Dimage Scan Elite 5400 II
Originally installed on pc with winXP, a couple of years back I decided to try and use on machine with win10. My understanding was that the original Minolta software would not work, so installed Vuescan. After successfully using for some time, I began to have problems scanning B&W negatives. The scanner would stick at Focus on 99%. Contacted Ed Hamrick - he suggested trying different USB cable, port etc. None of his suggestions worked. I opened up scanner and sucked any dust out with vacuum. That seemed to do the trick. A few days on and the same problem. Each time there was never a problem scanning slides. So today googling I came across a possible work around within this thread to get the Minolta software to work with win10. As this needed an install of the original software - I restarted PC and before using the work around I went to open the now installed Dimage software and hey presto it works. The work around to provide the correct drivers is not necessary. I have deleted the proposed workaround, switched off the PC a couple of times and the software still works.

So my point - if you have the original CD and win10 - install and see what happens.
Back to Top
keith_h View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 May 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 3125
Post Options Post Options   Quote keith_h Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 August 2021 at 23:34
Aldi sometimes sell a cheap and cheerful scanner, Meridon 2 in 1 Film and slide scanner. Part 47028.

Before anyone goes pffft, Aldi... works well enough for casual scans. I got mine for $20 on a runout so no complaints from me.

http://offers.kd2.org/en/au/aldi/pUFH/
Back to Top
Minolta80 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 August 2012
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Minolta80 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 August 2021 at 16:08
It's an old thread but my recommendation is to look out for old Slidefilm scanners with an SCSI interface. Most people arent aware on how easy it's to get them running on modern systems and sell them cheap.
I got an Nikon ls2000 for a few Euros at a fleamarket, then I got an 1996 Adaptec SCSI card from ebay as there are (custom)drivers for them on the internet for Win10 and I also already had Vuescan.
I have to admit those old Slidefilm scanners do mostly need a service- I did it myself as it was very dusty. However, the quality of the scans are just beyond believe. Thanks to integrated ICE dust and scratches are no issues and man it's quick!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras Page  <1 3456>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.