FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

using dynax 5 and maxxum 5000af

Author
stophed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote stophed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: using dynax 5 and maxxum 5000af
    Posted: 05 May 2023 at 15:59
Unable to get dedicated external flashes to fire on our dynax 5 as it's in-built flash keeps popping up..no matter what setting we try ...
The flashes are independent brands but fully dedicated according to the sellers.
And the 28-80 AF kit lens supplied with dynax 5 will not open its apertures at all when on the maxxum 5000af, but it works 100% fine on the dynax 5.
Plus remote cord RC1000l won't work on the dynax 5 but is ok on maxxum 5000af.
Have been told its just the age of these cameras, which is approx 20 years, but they are both in exceptionally good cosmetic condition.
NB The lens is 8 pin and the maxxum 5000af is 5 pin : is that somehow relevant??
Could somebody PLEASE offer some answers ? Many thanks for reading
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3235
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2023 at 17:55
Regards the flash .
If a compatible flash is mounted on the hotshoe , the pop up flash will not pop up .
The fact it is means the camera doesn't know it's there .

So you need to clean the contacts on both the flash and the camera .

When you turn the dial to the flash settings you can set the camera to "auto flash " "OFF" .
That'll stop it popping up and let you decide when you want to use flash .

read the manual for more information . https://www.cameramanuals.org/minolta_pdf/minolta_maxxum_5.pdf

Regards the aperture on the 5000AF .
Although some lenses won't AF on earlier cameras and some lenses have other restrictions , the aperture will work fine with the 5000AF regardless of what lens is mounted .
Presumably the lens focusses and the camera fires the shutter , just no aperture control ?

In which case it sounds like the aperture mechanism in the camera is at fault .
try cleaning the contacts if the lenses doesn't focus , as if the camera and lens can't see each other , then nothing will happen anyway .

Regards the shutter release .
Does the camera work as normal when the shutter release button is pressed ?

You need to state what the camera is doing .
Again , it might just be the contacts that need cleaning .

More information please .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Maccroft View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 11 December 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Tyne & Wear
Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote Maccroft Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2023 at 18:00
What model of flash are you using with the Dynax 5?
It sounds like the camera and flash are not talking to each other. So the camera does not realise that an external flash is fitted.
Have you tried cleaning the contacts on the hotshoe? Use something like the wooden end of a match stick to gently rub over the four contacts on the hotshoe.

The lens aperture is operated by a lever on the inside of the lens mount the number of lens contacts does not effect the aperture. Do you have any other lenses to try on the 5000AF? As does look that the aperture problem could be with the camera body and not the lens.

On a camera with the 5 pins it will not autofocus with the newer lens with the autofocus motor in the lens. The Minolta xi zoom lens I think will focus but you cannot zoom them. Any other screw drive lens will work.

The remote cord not working on the Dynax 5 this could be the contact pins oxodised and not allowing a proper circuit. Again try rubbing the 3 pins on the camera body with something like a matchstick to clean off any oxidisation.
Back to Top
stophed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 June 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 14
Post Options Post Options   Quote stophed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2023 at 22:48
Many thanks for above replies.
I have studied the camera manuals several times and cannot see any answers to my problems.
The flash is a Miranda Multi Dedicated 700CD which on the Dynax 5 is used with a Pixel Hot Shoe converter ref TF-325. The contacts all look clean but tomorrow I will try cleaning them. again.
Both cameras work completely fine in all other respects which is why this is all so frustrating.
I have cleaned the remote control pins on the Dynax 5, bearing in mind the remote works fine on the Maxxum 5000af.
As previously said, the Dynax5 flash pops up all the time and I cannot see how you can fire this camera with non minolta external flash : except by using a slaved unit, which defeats the whole object. I have used it with a Minolta 3600HS many times but no longer have one..
As far as the lens not opening I suspect that the Maxxum 5000 is at fault, especially as that has been mentioned as not being an uncommon issue with these.
I regret to return to the age of these cameras, being circa 20 odd years, as I am coming to the conclusion that the problems lie therein.
Namely that although I used these cameras for about ten years, that period ended about ten years back and as a trade expert has pointed out, that's the worst thing you can do with them, ie not use them,- essentially some vital electronic bit just gives up the ghost. It matters not how fine these cameras look, tis what's inside that counts.
Anyhow, I'll try to keep positive and sincere thanks for reading all this,
Best regards to you and yours...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 3235
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2023 at 00:17
Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

Many thanks for above replies.
I have studied the camera manuals several times and cannot see any answers to my problems.
The flash is a Miranda Multi Dedicated 700CD which on the Dynax 5 is used with a Pixel Hot Shoe converter ref TF-325. The contacts all look clean but tomorrow I will try cleaning them. again.



A Pixel Hot Shoe converter ref TF-325 ?
If you need a converter , then that suggests it's not a dedicated flash .
I assume the flash has an ISO shoe and the converter changes this to a Minolta iISO hotshoe ?
Most of these converters just join up the +/- contacts to force it to flash and provide no communication between camera and flash , which is why the pop up flash keeps popping up , as you don't have a compatible dedicated flash attached .


Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

Both cameras work completely fine in all other respects which is why this is all so frustrating.
I have cleaned the remote control pins on the Dynax 5, bearing in mind the remote works fine on the Maxxum 5000af.


Have you considered picking up a wireless remote for the camera ? they work on infrared , like a TV remote .


Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

As previously said, the Dynax5 flash pops up all the time and I cannot see how you can fire this camera with non minolta external flash : except by using a slaved unit, which defeats the whole object. I have used it with a Minolta 3600HS many times but no longer have one..


As mentioned above , you need to disable the pop up flash .
see page 37 of the manual I linked to you .
It's "Flash Cancel" .
Wireless triggers and manual flash still work .
Unless the adapter you are using is faulty ?

EDIT ;
Possibly the reason why the pop up flash is popping up isn't because it's automatically wanting to do flash , but because the camera is automatically using it for the AF assist illuminator .
Use the custom function settings to disable this , and that should stop it .
CF 11 set to option 2 ( off) page 107 of the manual .
Had you a non adapted compatible flash attached , its infrared illuminator would do the focus assist , rather than the cameras pop up flash .



Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

As far as the lens not opening I suspect that the Maxxum 5000 is at fault, especially as that has been mentioned as not being an uncommon issue with these.



Most likely .


Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

I regret to return to the age of these cameras, being circa 20 odd years, as I am coming to the conclusion that the problems lie therein.



20 years old ?
They'd gone digital by then !
I've got film loaded in my Minolta 9000AF of the same vintage , 1985 .
That's 38 years old , not 20 !
My first SLR was a Minolta 7000AF I bought used with three lenses in around 1992 . It cost me a good few weeks wages to pay for it . I still have it and the lenses .




Originally posted by stophed stophed wrote:

Namely that although I used these cameras for about ten years, that period ended about ten years back and as a trade expert has pointed out, that's the worst thing you can do with them, ie not use them,- essentially some vital electronic bit just gives up the ghost. It matters not how fine these cameras look, tis what's inside that counts.
Anyhow, I'll try to keep positive and sincere thanks for reading all this,
Best regards to you and yours...


Quite .
Electronic or mechanical , it's the lack of use that tends to cause problems .

Edited by neilt3 - 06 May 2023 at 00:27
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 720
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2023 at 00:44
See below appendix for flash for Dynax/Maxxum 5:



Note that :

The built-in flash will revert to fill flash after use with an adapter ( that is assuming your Pixel adapter has proper contacts like the original Minolta FS-1100 )so you need to reset the flash setting everytime you remove it from the body.

They mention that flashes from other manufacturers may not work. That seems to be the case here. Making it worse is an adapter from another manufacturer is also used here.

Edited by michelb - 06 May 2023 at 00:53
Michel B
 



Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 720
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2023 at 00:51
typing error


Edited by michelb - 06 May 2023 at 00:54
Michel B
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 14816
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2023 at 06:52
I did a quick search on the Miranda Multi Dedicated 700CD and you need to set it to M (Minolta) - did you do that? It probably is the flash protocol of the manual focus cameras - so it might not work with the 5 at all. Find the manual here: https://www.butkus.org/chinon/flashes_meters/miranda/miranda_700cd/miranda_700cd.htm

You might want to consider something like the Minolta 3500xi for a tenner (with warranty).

The problems you describe don't seem to come from the age of the cameras.

For the lens: also clean the contacts on both lens and camera.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.