FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wireless Image Imports to a Mac?

Author
ADub128 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United States
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 2614
Post Options Post Options   Quote ADub128 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wireless Image Imports to a Mac?
    Posted: 02 October 2023 at 05:09
I used to use Sony's PlayMemories Home macOS app to import images wirelessly from my Sony cameras to my Mac. Unfortunately, PlayMemories doesn't work on the latest macOS releases.

How do you move your images from you camera to your Mac? Always by SD card? Maybe you connect your camera to your Mac?

I could go wirelessly from my camera to my iPhone (using the Imaging Edge app), then iPhone to Mac.

I ultimately want to edit in Lightroom. I transfer by SD card, but would like a wireless option too.
A6400 | A6100 | NEX-3, 6 | A77ii | A7ii | Maxxum 9 | SRT-101 | many lenses! | Instagram: @ArtWong128
 



Back to Top
lomitamike View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: CA.
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote lomitamike Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 October 2023 at 18:58
Haven't tried to move them wireless to my mac. It worked on my iPad and a6000 a few years ago, that was the last time I tried it.

I still plug my SD card into the back of my mac.

You could go the iphone route but it would take a bit longer and would add an unnecessary step. I know it's not that easy to reach around the back of an iMac and plug in the SD card but it's not really that hard as compared to going the other route.

Not sure what the latest Sony software is regarding the wireless transfers to a mac.
A900, A850, A6000,
Back to Top
ADub128 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United States
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Posts: 2614
Post Options Post Options   Quote ADub128 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 October 2023 at 03:59
Thanks for the info, Mike. I have a new Mac mini (M2 chip that I love, so fast!!) that replaced my old i5 iMac.

The Mac mini has the SD card slot up front, so a little easier to deal with than the iMac. I still would love to import things wirelessly to my Mac, but it really isn't that tough to use the SD card. It works.

I still want Sony to update their PlayMemories Home program.
A6400 | A6100 | NEX-3, 6 | A77ii | A7ii | Maxxum 9 | SRT-101 | many lenses! | Instagram: @ArtWong128
Back to Top
Alice_Ba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 11 September 2023
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Alice_Ba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2024 at 12:42
Originally posted by lomitamike lomitamike wrote:

Haven't tried to move them wireless to my mac. It worked on my iPad and a6000 a few years ago, that was the last time I tried it.

I still plug my SD card into the back of my mac.

You could go the iphone route but it would take a bit longer and would add an unnecessary step. I know it's not that easy to reach around the back of an iMac and plug in the SD card but it's not really that hard as compared to going the other route.

Not sure what the latest Sony software is regarding the wireless transfers to a mac.


Can you tell me how to do this on the go with an iPhone? It's a bit annoying to keep switching the SD card back and forth.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.