FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wireless remote shutter for a6100?

Author
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wireless remote shutter for a6100?
    Posted: 05 May 2021 at 21:36
Hi folks. Are there options out there for an inexpensive wireless remote shutter for the a6100? I'm having a tough time finding anything that works.

I have one for my a77ii, but it has a little cable that hooks into a port on the camera, and the a6100 doesn't have that. Any other options?

It has to be wireless, can't be one of the wired ones.
 



Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3264
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 21:48
Mobile phone with Imaging Edge Mobile app?
Back to Top
minolta_mutley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 August 2010
Country: Belgium
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Posts: 840
Post Options Post Options   Quote minolta_mutley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 21:52
There should be enough possibilities - you need one with a multi-cable.
Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 22:00
Can you use a different cable?

I have this one for my a77ii camera: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JGI8BE4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It does have a removable cable. Am I able to hook it up to a different port on the computer? One side is just a little headset jack.


As for using my phone...I could possibly? I'm iffy on that only because I'm running when I take the photos and I don't want to fumble and destroy my phone. It's kind of big and awkward to hold.
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 3463
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 22:20
I think the headset end connects to the radio receiver. If on the other end you use the REMOTE socket on the camera then you won't find that on the A6100. You need a cable that connects to the MULTI terminal. This one on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/JJC-RMT-VP1K-Wireless-HDR-CX405-Camcorder/dp/B079GTM367/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=Radio+Wireless+Remote+Control+Sony&qid=1620249241&sr=8-3 is compatible with both cameras, so it could be that a 2.5mm to MULTI cable will do the job. See for example https://www.amazon.com/DSLRKIT-2-5mm-S2-Shutter-Connecting-NEX-3NL/dp/B00KWWWHUM/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=2.5mm+remote+cable+to+multi+S2&qid=1620249531&sr=8-2.

I have neither camera, so do check before buying!
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1940
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 22:35
There are loads of them available - some include intervalometer functionality (great for timelapse). You can use them on most cameras if you have the right connecting cable. I usually have a basic one in my bag - one of these.
 



Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 23:15
Originally posted by Howard_S Howard_S wrote:

I think the headset end connects to the radio receiver. If on the other end you use the REMOTE socket on the camera then you won't find that on the A6100. You need a cable that connects to the MULTI terminal. This one on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/JJC-RMT-VP1K-Wireless-HDR-CX405-Camcorder/dp/B079GTM367/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=Radio+Wireless+Remote+Control+Sony&qid=1620249241&sr=8-3 is compatible with both cameras, so it could be that a 2.5mm to MULTI cable will do the job. See for example https://www.amazon.com/DSLRKIT-2-5mm-S2-Shutter-Connecting-NEX-3NL/dp/B00KWWWHUM/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=2.5mm+remote+cable+to+multi+S2&qid=1620249531&sr=8-2.

I have neither camera, so do check before buying!


Thank you! I think I'm goin to pick up one of those cables to see if that works. It's worth a shot at least!
Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2021 at 23:18
Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:

There are loads of them available - some include intervalometer functionality (great for timelapse). You can use them on most cameras if you have the right connecting cable. I usually have a basic one in my bag - one of these.


I have the most basic of basics so I wasn't really sure what some of the rest of that stuff is to be honest. I don't do timelapse photography. I actually use it (like so much that I do lol) for something kind of odd. I've been doing wide angle photography of my dog doing agility. But because I'm running him AND shooting, I need the wireless remote. It works great for a series of fun weave shots last summer and I was just getting into doing jumps when it got snowy.

I still may want to do it with the a77ii, but I thought it might be fun to try it with the a6100 and the 16-50mm lens.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.